Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is the exact same recipe my mother makes....this is easy and quick. Be sure to use a jelly roll pan or the Pampered C.'s bar pan. You can substitue a 1/2 tsp vinegar or lemon juice with milk for the buttermilk. That is how I always make this recipe and I make it about 10 times a year. This is great for a potluck or small group dessert. Feeds a lot of people. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
i had a recipe simular to this and lost it .mine did not have coffee.i like the mocha effect.i actually made this for a church function yesterday and it flew off the table before anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This was delicious! And so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Just like my mom's old family recipe which is definitely the best chocolate cake I've ever had. I especially love the thick, fudgy frosting (my recipe has no vanilla in the frosting, and uses a full 1 lb. package of powdered sugar). Can't go wrong with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Overall, this cake turned out fine, however, there seemed to be alot of work involved as far as preparation goes. Still a good cake. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
YUM!! YUM!! YUM!! The only problem with this cake, is that I wanted to eat the entire thing. That and the fact that my 3 year old was on a sugar buzz for the rest of the night. So totally worth it though. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHYB_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I've made many chocolate cakes and this is a good one but not my personal favorite. A little too dense and flour tasting but lots of chocolate flavor though! When you flour the pan add a sprinkle of cocoa powder too. It looks better than the white bottom which can occur with flour and has the same non stick results as the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
So good for a picnic! Try adding 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the batter for a special little something, folks will wonder what that different taste is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I made this for a July 4th party - it was a really easy recipe to make and went over well! Three people in particular just kept going back over and over again for more cake - I think they ate over 1/2 of the cake just themselve! It's a great combination of brownie/cake and easy "finger food". I'm giving it 4 stars b/c it was a bit on the sweet side, but still quite good. Maybe I'll sprinkle some nuts on top of the icing next time to try and cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I made this recipe for a large 4th of July gathering and it was a big hit. Everyone loved it! It moist and flavorful. It seems to be a cross between cake and brownie. Yum! It is also very easy to whip together. I will definately be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMMOM3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States