Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
First, this cake is SUPPOSED to be super thin. Hence, Texas SHEET Cake. Like the reviewer below said, use the large jellyroll size pan (15"x10") not a 9x13 or 8x8...it just won't work. Very very moist and rich. I lost my original recipe about a year ago and have been searching to find one that will work. This one is almost there, but I do add a bit more cocoa. It just didn't have enough chocolate flavor. Otherwise, this recipe is just awesome! Be sure to pour the icing over the cake right out of the oven. It soaks in and makes a beautiful thin smooth icing on top. ALSO, IF YOU COVER THIS WITH FOIL OR SARANWRAP...be sure to use toothpicks or something to prop up the foil, otherwise it will stick to the icing and you'll have a huge mess. Lesson learned the hard way! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is the exact same recipe my mother makes....this is easy and quick. Be sure to use a jelly roll pan or the Pampered C.'s bar pan. You can substitue a 1/2 tsp vinegar or lemon juice with milk for the buttermilk. That is how I always make this recipe and I make it about 10 times a year. This is great for a potluck or small group dessert. Feeds a lot of people. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is THE Texas sheet cake recipe! Exactly the same as the one I got from my Mom. It always turns out so moist and delicious. (And yes, sweet!). The recipe doesn't mention pan size that I can see... be sure and use the large jellyroll size pan (15"x10") not a 9x13 or it won't cook right. It comes out to be quite a thin cake, it is so sweet you don't want a big thick piece! If you've never made a Texas sheet cake before, you will doubt the odd preparation method and probably be concerned that there is no possibility that it will turn out when you see the runny batter, but don't worry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
UPDATE: I changed the 1/2 cup shortening for 1/2 cup vegetable oil. Much better now. This is my hubby's favorite cake. He is from Nebraska and they call it a "Tommy Cake". I couldn't find his Mom's "Tommy Cake" recipe, so I looked until, I found one very similar to her's. He said it was just like the one he remembered as a child. We served it at a Christmas dinner this year and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Specht

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I've made many chocolate cakes and this is a good one but not my personal favorite. A little too dense and flour tasting but lots of chocolate flavor though! When you flour the pan add a sprinkle of cocoa powder too. It looks better than the white bottom which can occur with flour and has the same non stick results as the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This icing is really what makes this cake. I did add an additional tablespoon of cocoa to the cake mix for a more chocolate flavor. Make sure to sift your ingredients so you don't get any "white" specs in your cake or icing. Although this cake is good at room temperature, it's even better refrigerated overnight and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Excellent flavor, I really like this cake. The icing is great, I added 1 cup walnuts and 1 tsp vanilla in it. I also used one extra Tbsp of cocoa powder in the cake. Next time I'll add a little salt and cinnamon as some of the other recipes include.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
So good for a picnic! Try adding 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the batter for a special little something, folks will wonder what that different taste is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was very simple to make and turned out quite moist, but I wish it would have had a deeper chocolate flavor (the cake itself). Frosting was good; I didn't realize that I was low on powdered sugar and only used about 3 cups instead of 4 which made it plenty sweet enough. I also added some walnuts to the frosting because that is the way I've always had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
All I can say is WOW. I have never made a chocolate cake from scratch before so I don't have much to compare to, but after this recipe I wouldn't bother to find another. The only things I did differnt is that I cut the recipe in half (to serve a smaller crowd) and put in a 11x7 pan and baked for the same amount of time and used buttermilk instead of reg milk in the frosting. It was so moist and chocolaty....The only thing I might try different is to throw some mini choc chips in as well just to differ the texture and add more chocolate. My friends gave it 3 thumbs up and couldn't believe I made it from scratch! Thanks for the amazing recipe! ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States