Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Brought this to work for co-workers birthday. Everyone loved it. Several asked for recipe. Personally, I wish it was a little more chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I make this cake exactally as written but use buttermilk, insead of regular milk, in the frosting. It gives it a nice little tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is THE Texas sheet cake recipe! Exactly the same as the one I got from my Mom. It always turns out so moist and delicious. (And yes, sweet!). The recipe doesn't mention pan size that I can see... be sure and use the large jellyroll size pan (15"x10") not a 9x13 or it won't cook right. It comes out to be quite a thin cake, it is so sweet you don't want a big thick piece! If you've never made a Texas sheet cake before, you will doubt the odd preparation method and probably be concerned that there is no possibility that it will turn out when you see the runny batter, but don't worry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Very tasty! My husband doesn't usually like chocolate desserts, but this dissapeared in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is the exact same recipe my mother makes....this is easy and quick. Be sure to use a jelly roll pan or the Pampered C.'s bar pan. You can substitue a 1/2 tsp vinegar or lemon juice with milk for the buttermilk. That is how I always make this recipe and I make it about 10 times a year. This is great for a potluck or small group dessert. Feeds a lot of people. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
i had a recipe simular to this and lost it .mine did not have coffee.i like the mocha effect.i actually made this for a church function yesterday and it flew off the table before anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This was delicious! And so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Just like my mom's old family recipe which is definitely the best chocolate cake I've ever had. I especially love the thick, fudgy frosting (my recipe has no vanilla in the frosting, and uses a full 1 lb. package of powdered sugar). Can't go wrong with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Overall, this cake turned out fine, however, there seemed to be alot of work involved as far as preparation goes. Still a good cake. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
YUM!! YUM!! YUM!! The only problem with this cake, is that I wanted to eat the entire thing. That and the fact that my 3 year old was on a sugar buzz for the rest of the night. So totally worth it though. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHYB_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States