Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is the exact recipe I used to make years ago. I am so glad I found it again. I remember that I sometimes added cinnamon, so I added 1 tsp. This was very good, but I think just a hint of cinnamon would be better. Next time I make this I will add 1/2 tsp.of cinnamon. Thank you for submitting this great recipe Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
wow! a real chocolate cake, very rich,dense and fudgy! will make many times, of that im sure. thankyou very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was very simple to make and turned out quite moist, but I wish it would have had a deeper chocolate flavor (the cake itself). Frosting was good; I didn't realize that I was low on powdered sugar and only used about 3 cups instead of 4 which made it plenty sweet enough. I also added some walnuts to the frosting because that is the way I've always had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
YUM! This is wonderful. We cut these into small squares and they were like delicious, thick brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
First, this cake is SUPPOSED to be super thin. Hence, Texas SHEET Cake. Like the reviewer below said, use the large jellyroll size pan (15"x10") not a 9x13 or 8x8...it just won't work. Very very moist and rich. I lost my original recipe about a year ago and have been searching to find one that will work. This one is almost there, but I do add a bit more cocoa. It just didn't have enough chocolate flavor. Otherwise, this recipe is just awesome! Be sure to pour the icing over the cake right out of the oven. It soaks in and makes a beautiful thin smooth icing on top. ALSO, IF YOU COVER THIS WITH FOIL OR SARANWRAP...be sure to use toothpicks or something to prop up the foil, otherwise it will stick to the icing and you'll have a huge mess. Lesson learned the hard way! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Been making cakes for years. About once a year or so, I try a scratch cake, just to remind myself why I stick with Duncan Hines. This cake was moist, but barely tasted like chocolate. Also, I baked it in two 8x8 pans, and it was barely enough. Not sure how you could make it in a large sheet pan, as the cake would be so thin. Frosted with cream cheese II frosting from this site. It was better the second day, but I think I'll pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
All I can say is WOW. I have never made a chocolate cake from scratch before so I don't have much to compare to, but after this recipe I wouldn't bother to find another. The only things I did differnt is that I cut the recipe in half (to serve a smaller crowd) and put in a 11x7 pan and baked for the same amount of time and used buttermilk instead of reg milk in the frosting. It was so moist and chocolaty....The only thing I might try different is to throw some mini choc chips in as well just to differ the texture and add more chocolate. My friends gave it 3 thumbs up and couldn't believe I made it from scratch! Thanks for the amazing recipe! ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Brought this to work for co-workers birthday. Everyone loved it. Several asked for recipe. Personally, I wish it was a little more chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
I make this cake exactally as written but use buttermilk, insead of regular milk, in the frosting. It gives it a nice little tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is THE Texas sheet cake recipe! Exactly the same as the one I got from my Mom. It always turns out so moist and delicious. (And yes, sweet!). The recipe doesn't mention pan size that I can see... be sure and use the large jellyroll size pan (15"x10") not a 9x13 or it won't cook right. It comes out to be quite a thin cake, it is so sweet you don't want a big thick piece! If you've never made a Texas sheet cake before, you will doubt the odd preparation method and probably be concerned that there is no possibility that it will turn out when you see the runny batter, but don't worry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States