Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a good version of one of our favorite picnic desserts. I've used this recipe several times and we've always enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMBRLYB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Back when dinosaurs roamed the earth, my college roommate's mom made this for us and was kind enough to share the recipe. As years passed and after several relocations, I lost the recipe. Imagine my delight to find it right here!:) Now I make this again for potluck suppers and family reunions, and everyone enjoys this yummy cake tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This icing is really what makes this cake. I did add an additional tablespoon of cocoa to the cake mix for a more chocolate flavor. Make sure to sift your ingredients so you don't get any "white" specs in your cake or icing. Although this cake is good at room temperature, it's even better refrigerated overnight and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
scrumptious frosting...cake-not so good :(...will use the frosting recipe again though...cake had no flavor and was an unusual consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I was looking for a recipe similar to one I had as a child and this was it! So rich and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is great for a big crowd!! I got rave reviews from friends and co-workers and my boys LOVED it!! The frosting is so rich and fudgy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe makes a delicious chocolatey, fudgey cake. It's a down-home-type cake (not particularly elegant) but a lovely way to end a family dinner. This one really satisfies a chocolate cake craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great recipe! The only change I made was to increase the cocoa in the cake and the icing by 1 tbsp. each since I like a deeper chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is the exact recipe I used to make years ago. I am so glad I found it again. I remember that I sometimes added cinnamon, so I added 1 tsp. This was very good, but I think just a hint of cinnamon would be better. Next time I make this I will add 1/2 tsp.of cinnamon. Thank you for submitting this great recipe Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
wow! a real chocolate cake, very rich,dense and fudgy! will make many times, of that im sure. thankyou very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States