Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
super easy and super good. i use the microwave instead of the stove. beware, the batter looks too runny, but it'll turn out JUST FINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kijest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Really good! I've never had a Texas sheet cake before, but my sister requested I make one for her. It was excellent and easy to make. I did add extra cocoa powder to the cake, like others suggested. And I sifted the cocoa powder and also the powdered sugar in the frosting to prevent any lumps. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my favorites. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a recipe that everyone asks for whenever we do a picnic or a potluck. I have made this literally, for years. So easy to make and so diliciously rich. There is never enough, and it seems someone always get left out, or someone always wants/needs just a little piece more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
It looks like a long time since someone reviewed this recipe. I made it this last weekend (3-21-10)for my DIL's birthday. It turned out great! Only change I made was I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the batter from another receipe that I had previously made. DELICIOUS !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I ABSOLUTELY love this recipe. My great grandmother made it all the time. It is wonderful exactly as written however I've always added 1/2 chopped (drained) maraschino cherries along with chopped walnuts in the icing portion and it gives it a whole new dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is absolutely hands down the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten. This is a favorite of my family. I am asked to fix this cake quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is the sheet cake my family has always made, all the way back to my great-grandmother. It is delicious and easy to make. It never lasts more than a few hours in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Worked out perfect! Just be sure to use the proper flour, I used a self-rising flour and it wasn't as flat as sheet cake needs to be. So be careful to choose the flour correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayci_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
The cake tasted like a chocolate pancake and the frosting was pure sugar. We used only half the sugar on the frosting and could hardly choke it down. Hurt my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great little snacking cake! Great texture in the cake itself, not too light, it was a bit denser and had some body. The cake was very mild chocolate flavor, the icing is what really makes this one great. It gets a crisp outer layer and is very sweet. I added about half a cup of pecan pieces to the icing. I didn't measure them as I only had a little in the sack. I cut this in half and used a quarter sheet pan. Very good and I will definitely make this again! Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States