Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Great cake. Same recipe my mother always used except it's lacking 1 tsp. of cinnamon. Try it. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
super easy and super good. i use the microwave instead of the stove. beware, the batter looks too runny, but it'll turn out JUST FINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Really good! I've never had a Texas sheet cake before, but my sister requested I make one for her. It was excellent and easy to make. I did add extra cocoa powder to the cake, like others suggested. And I sifted the cocoa powder and also the powdered sugar in the frosting to prevent any lumps. I will definitely be adding this recipe to my favorites. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is a recipe that everyone asks for whenever we do a picnic or a potluck. I have made this literally, for years. So easy to make and so diliciously rich. There is never enough, and it seems someone always get left out, or someone always wants/needs just a little piece more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
It looks like a long time since someone reviewed this recipe. I made it this last weekend (3-21-10)for my DIL's birthday. It turned out great! Only change I made was I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the batter from another receipe that I had previously made. DELICIOUS !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I ABSOLUTELY love this recipe. My great grandmother made it all the time. It is wonderful exactly as written however I've always added 1/2 chopped (drained) maraschino cherries along with chopped walnuts in the icing portion and it gives it a whole new dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is absolutely hands down the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten. This is a favorite of my family. I am asked to fix this cake quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is the sheet cake my family has always made, all the way back to my great-grandmother. It is delicious and easy to make. It never lasts more than a few hours in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Worked out perfect! Just be sure to use the proper flour, I used a self-rising flour and it wasn't as flat as sheet cake needs to be. So be careful to choose the flour correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cayci_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
The cake tasted like a chocolate pancake and the frosting was pure sugar. We used only half the sugar on the frosting and could hardly choke it down. Hurt my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States