Texas Sheet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Just the best and so quick and easy. This has become my signature cake over the last 5 plus years. The only thing I have changed is I use Hershey's Special Dark cocoa for the cake, regular cocoa for the frosting. Be careful not overbake and let cake cool before frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I make a Texas Sheet Cake simuilar to this which is a excellent cake the only thing I do to it is mix 1 cup of creamy peanut butter with 1 tablespoon of oil and spread on cake while still hot ,then let cool and spread with icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Excellent taste and texture. For those of you that are ending up with crumbly cake, you are over mixing the batter. Mix it just enought to get it all blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Have the made the same thing for many years...people love it. Some differences though, I do not use walnuts in the batter for one and bake it at 350 degrees on 11x17 cookie sheet. In the icing I use cream or half & half. Bring the icing to a gentle boils, adding the powdered sugar at the very end just before frosting the cake (which should still be warm).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOCALTED

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This is such an easy cake to make and it's always a hit at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AREKAYELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is a great no fail cake that can be prepared and in the oven very quickly. I always get requests for the recipe, to bring more cake or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was delicious, especially the frosting. The only substitution I made was light sour cream in place of the real thing. I thought the cake was soft and had good flavor, but it was "crumbly" and difficult to serve in one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is a perfect sheet cake recipe, my grandma makes it all the time. Just make sure you use the right size pan. The frosting does set up nicely (even without nuts). Just make sure it's cooled completely before covering. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I just made this for a picnic and it was so easy and quick to make. Love the fudge icing. I did make a few changes- I added 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla to the batter. We like pecans, so I used those instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States