Texas Sheet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
The icing was very dry when I added my powdered sugar. I new there wasn't enough liquid between the 1/2 cup butter and 5 tblsp milk. After I added the sugar and nuts it was so dry I could hardly combine it. It turned out like real hard batter. I had to add a little milk a bit at a time until it was more liquidy. Then I kept it on the heat low and after it got hot and liquid again I poured it on the cake and it was fine. It still set up and was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
It was ok. Certainly easy to make. Not a lot of flavor. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Love this cake. I normally hate chocolate cake as it is usually too dry for me. This is the only chocolate cake I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My recipe just like this one has buttermilk instead of sour cream. Be sure the hot liquid has cooled down before you add it to eggs. Otherwise your eggs will "cook" before you want them to. Also you can make this in a 13 x 9 pan for a thicker cake. It will take a bit longer to bake. One person mentioned not liking the frosting being too thick and the cake too thin. I let my cake cool for about 30 min. before adding the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Delish. Just like I remembered it. I did add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the cocoa mixture because I never had chocolate sheet cake without it. Icing is very sweet, but oh so good when you spread it warm onto warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've been making this for years, and it is always a hit. To those who think the frosting is too thick, you need to frost the cake while the cake is still HOT. The frosting melts and is partially absorbed into the cake. There is no need to thin the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Great cake (had to skip the frosting this time). Good texture for eating with your hands, stays moist for days. Made half a recipe in my 8x8 pan, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great sheet cake! It turned out nice and moist. I topped mine with a chocolate ganache and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
It's chocolate and you can never go wrong with chocolate. Other than that, this cake is NOTHING SPECIAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is AMAZING! I left out walnuts because I was taking it to a picnic at my husband's work and I didn't know if anyone (any kids) were allergic to nuts. I cut it up to be like brownies and everyone was asking what it was and for the recipe. My husband says he can't wait until I make it again. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States