Texas Sheet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I didn't have sour cream so I substituted Greek yogurt and 1/2 tsp baking soda. Also the 15x10 jelly roll pan was not big enough I used my largest jelly pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda Caylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
It's such a moist cake, and not too sweet. Sometimes I add nuts, sometimes I don't-just depending on who I'm making it for. What a tried-and-true recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Frosting very yummy, cake was not dense enough as I have had in the past, but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
The icing was very dry when I added my powdered sugar. I new there wasn't enough liquid between the 1/2 cup butter and 5 tblsp milk. After I added the sugar and nuts it was so dry I could hardly combine it. It turned out like real hard batter. I had to add a little milk a bit at a time until it was more liquidy. Then I kept it on the heat low and after it got hot and liquid again I poured it on the cake and it was fine. It still set up and was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
It was ok. Certainly easy to make. Not a lot of flavor. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Love this cake. I normally hate chocolate cake as it is usually too dry for me. This is the only chocolate cake I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Hudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My recipe just like this one has buttermilk instead of sour cream. Be sure the hot liquid has cooled down before you add it to eggs. Otherwise your eggs will "cook" before you want them to. Also you can make this in a 13 x 9 pan for a thicker cake. It will take a bit longer to bake. One person mentioned not liking the frosting being too thick and the cake too thin. I let my cake cool for about 30 min. before adding the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Delish. Just like I remembered it. I did add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the cocoa mixture because I never had chocolate sheet cake without it. Icing is very sweet, but oh so good when you spread it warm onto warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've been making this for years, and it is always a hit. To those who think the frosting is too thick, you need to frost the cake while the cake is still HOT. The frosting melts and is partially absorbed into the cake. There is no need to thin the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Clutts McGraw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Great cake (had to skip the frosting this time). Good texture for eating with your hands, stays moist for days. Made half a recipe in my 8x8 pan, worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States