Texas Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I loved the idea of it, but the recipe is very dull. I followed recipe exactly, tasted it, then added chopped red in addition to green pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, smoked paprika, oregano, and still it fell flat. Needs an overhaul for flavor, but great for maybe feeding a bunch of teenagers who like hamburger and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Hender

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This recipe was found via ingredient search because my cupboard was bare. It was similar to another recipe called "Texas Hash" from my mother's archives. I compared the 2 & found that the rice & tomato amts were double what her recipe called for, so I cut those ingredients in half. Based on reviews that this recipe was bland, I opted to spin a Tex-Mex version of this & added 3 cloves of minced garlic to the onion/pepper sweat & added Worcestershire sauce & Tabasco to it. I cooked the rice (1 cup) with 2 lg dehydrated Ancho chilis with seeds. I added 1 c frozen corn & 1/2 c green olives to the meat mixture. I reduced the heat to 350 & topped the cheese with crushed tortilla chips. OOOH LA LA! Delicious! Served w a dollop of sour cream & a lightly dressed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Elledge
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
A good recipe with simple ingredients. We are rice lovers, and casserole lovers, don't know why I hadn't ran across this before! I haven't mastered the perfect rice cooked on the stove top, so I put the amount listed in my rice cooker instead. I let the browned beef and veggies slow simmer in the undrained tomatoes until the rice was finished. A nice blend here and we liked it. Plenty of room for any changes if you want more kick, more veggies, etc. Think it will work great with any ground meat. Will make again, bet it's even better as leftovers! I added a picture as #3, not sure that it will stay #3. Will probably half the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I prepared it as written, and added some ClubHouse TexMex seasoning, but we still found it bland. It needs something else. It was okay, but not very exciting. I will have to tweak it if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CountryGirl76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This not only easy to prepare, but it was delicious! I used half white rice and half wild rice, tomatoes w/green chilis and an anahiem pepper instead of a bell pepper. We will definately be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Very hardy dish. I pretty well followed the recipe but made a few changes. I regret to say I forgot to add the bacon, I didn't realize it until the cheese was sprinkled on. I added a can of corn and a can of black beans (rinsed and drained). I am a big fan of tomato products so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with chilies. When adding salt and pepper I added a few more spices. I threw in some cumin, chili powder and a little dried red peppers. Ended up with a little zip to the flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
good, easy, but not anything to go super crazy about. Take some leftovers and scramble an egg and combine in a flour tortilla. Would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briansthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This made a huge portion. I reduce the meat to 1 pound of ground turkey. I served it with seasoned salt. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe, very good and easy to make. I'll save this one and make it again, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Adding worcestershire to the meat while browning is must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Nichols

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clarksburg, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States