Texas Ranch Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Great recipe for a change up on traditional potato salad. Based on other reviewers suggestions, I used 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Added 1/2 tsp of chili powder to kick it up a notch. Will definitely be making this again for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was a wonderful starting point for creating a delicious potato salad. I brought it to my 4th of July picnic today and people's exact words were "oh my god this is so freaking good!" I did tweak the recipe a litle bit after taking users' advice and it turned out wonderfully. I did/added the following with mine-- -I cut the potatoes first and then boiled them for a shorter time (12 min). -I substituted one cup of mayo with 1 cup sour cream. -I tossed it with 4oz of coarsely grated mild cheddar cheese. -I added 4 chopped hard-boiled eggs. I just wanted this salad to be out of this world and it was! My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DVINEGRACE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This went over well at our Dad's Day BBQ. Subbing sour cream for half the mayo added nice flavor. I followed a previous reviewer's recommendation and used less bacon... do NOT do this. The bacon was the best part!! Added more sliced green onions and real bacon bits to the top for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This stuff is GOOD! After the initital cool down and I stirred the dressing and bacon in, I couldn't stop sampling it! I disagree with an earlier review that it's better the next day...I actually liked it immediately after I put it all together because the bacon was still crunchy. I think next time I will keep everything separate in the refrigerator until serving time, then throw together. I prepared this one day ahead of time and while it was still very good, it lost the cruch of the bacon...which I really liked. Great recipe! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Wonderful and so easy! This was a big hit! I also followed the others and used sour cream AND mayo. I'll be making this one again very soon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Not bad as a guide to build upon but I found it necessary to tweak some things to make it more palatable to me. First, out of curiosity, I weighed the amount of bacon called for in the recipe. Whoa. Lots of bacon – too much for me! I think I used half that. Also, as I’ve never been a fan of straight mayonnaise in this type of salad, I cut it with sour cream. I thought it needed some contrast in texture, so, as the expression goes, I added some celery “for a little crunch.” As for the dressing, I found it a little weak. Since I made just a third of the recipe to begin with, I gratefully had some of the dressing mix left over, so I added more, along with some fresh ground pepper, dill weed and garlic powder. Finally, since I knew the salad would absorb some of the dressing as it chilled, I added some half and half to compensate. A fair amount of tweaking, I admit, but it elevated this from a wimpy three to a four star potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
i do not care much for potato salad because of the mustard flavor. this is a great salad. the only thing i changed was that i actually fried the bacon instead of putting it in the microwave. I also made the ranch dressing myself from a mix and added sour cream. it tastes like a baked potato. its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamelabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
We thought this was really good. I too used the 1/2 sour cream, 1/2 mayo. I thought the ranch dressing packets were all 1 oz, but mine was only 1/2 oz, so could only make a 1/2 batch. Make sure you buy the correct size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Excellent! Delicious precisely because it isn't bogged down with 40 different ingredients, although I did as other reviewers suggested and used 1C mayo and 1C sour cream. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
good recipe (despite the fact that i didn't cook the potatoes long enough). i served this at a family birthday party with barbeque chicken & green beans & got lots of compliments (even after i made the following substitutions: instead of using 2 cups mayo i used 1 cup fat free sour cream & 1 cups light mayo, i used a small amount of minced onions in place of the green onions, & used turkey bacon instead of the real stuff). i would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States