Texas Ranch Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is the best potato salad EVER! I awoke at midnight craving a bowl! Definitely not your grandma's recipe. I also recommend substituting 1 cup sour cream for 1 cup mayo and adding hard boiled eggs and cheddar cheese! This potato salad started making me believe in potato salad again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Made this for the first time today and it was really delicious! I did lighten it up a bit by using 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Even my "I hate potato salad" husband ate two helpings. I felt like it was lacking a little something, and that something was dill. I added just a hit to my personal helping and then upon seeing how delicious it was added it to the whole bowl. Everyone agreed the dill took this over the top! I didnt measure, just added to taste. I strongly recommend it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskinner51207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Le Claire, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really liked the idea of this one, but had to do last minute damage control with extra seasonings/salt. It might've been good with two packages of ranch dressing mix. I used half mayo and half sour cream, as other reviewers recommended. You'd think this would be tasty considering the ingredients that go in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We recently found a BBQ joint nearby that had the most out of this world potato salad... I've always made mine with mayo and mustard, but went on a search for a recipe that compared to their potato salad... Who would have thought it was this simple??? I did half and half mayo with sour cream, and also added some chives in... Sprinkled some paprika on the top and YUM!!! Thank you so much, this is now how I will be making potato salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was great, everyone at the dinner party said so. I didn't get a chance to have any, it all disappeared from the bowl before I had a chance to have any. Afterwards everyone was asking me how to make this. I made two adjustments to this recipe, first I used a cup of sour cream and a cup of mayo instead of two cups of mayo, and instead of bacon slices I used Pancetta. Next time I make this I'll set aside some for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ice_On_Soul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Not bad as a guide to build upon but I found it necessary to tweak some things to make it more palatable to me. First, out of curiosity, I weighed the amount of bacon called for in the recipe. Whoa. Lots of bacon – too much for me! I think I used half that. Also, as I’ve never been a fan of straight mayonnaise in this type of salad, I cut it with sour cream. I thought it needed some contrast in texture, so, as the expression goes, I added some celery “for a little crunch.” As for the dressing, I found it a little weak. Since I made just a third of the recipe to begin with, I gratefully had some of the dressing mix left over, so I added more, along with some fresh ground pepper, dill weed and garlic powder. Finally, since I knew the salad would absorb some of the dressing as it chilled, I added some half and half to compensate. A fair amount of tweaking, I admit, but it elevated this from a wimpy three to a four star potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I have had this recipe a few years and for some reason I just realized I never rated it. This is my FAVORITE potato salad recipe. It's perfect as is. The only change I make is to use chives instead of green onion-- just personal preference. The family requests this now at big gatherings and it makes my grandmother jealous-- she has always considered herself the potato salad queen! Anyway--YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
yet another great potluck recipe! very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
omg!! this is so good!! never any left when i take it to get-togthers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good except I used 3 lbs potatoes not 5. Seems like it would have been very dry with all 5 lbs. Also, per other reviewers, used 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. I was afraid it would be too salty with the ranch dressing mix and bacon, but it was not. Next time I'll use a little less potato. (I added the dressing while the potatoes were still warm so maybe they absorbed more dressing than cold ones would have.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States