Texas Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Wonderful recipe and I agree with others. If they didn't set, check your thermometer. The only thing that I did that was not in the directions: once my syrup reached the correct temperature I removed it from the heat and continued to stir it until I was sure they were firm enough to avoid a flat thin praline. Then I added those expensive pecans and they set up perfectly. Much better than this picture shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I have never made pralines. Is this the way they are supposed to taste? CAUSE THEY ARE GREAT!!! First friend I shared one with wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I have made these twice now. Once in December and now again in August. Made them exactly as written and they have turned out beautifully both times. I understand that it is dry here in Wyoming so maybe that has helped. We love Texas Chewies and these are a close substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I used a regular eating spoon to drop these onto buttered wax paper and made 75 which changes the calories to about 192 each candy. I can't keep these in the house. The kids eat them up fast! *love* this recipe! Not grainy, nice smooth chewy and easy enough for a beginner. Takes an hour though not 30 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The ingredients in this are correct, but it will take MUCH more time than is posted and you cannot rush it. Also, it makes MUCH more than 2 sheets of aluminum foil on 2 pans will hold...prepare 4. And make sure it is a LARGE sauce pan...the mixture will expand as it bubbles and cooks down somewhat. I agree with one of the other reviewers...240 is the proper temperature, not higher as it continues to cook and will go beyond the caramel stage. But don't attempt this without a candy thermometer or you will either have rock hard pralines or runny ones. They do taste remarkably like Lamme's Pralines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These are delicious caramel pralines. I used less pecans and cooked them at a lower temp. Other than that I topped them with melted Guittard Milk chocolate to add calories. HA! They were a big hit and a fun change from the regular New Orleans Pralines that I make. All in all a fun recipe. (You can use parchment paper to cool them on and halve the recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Love this, easy to make & taste great! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Mc Kinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
i was able to cut this recipe in half and it turned out great, the first time i used all butter and it was too buttery for me so i used 1/2 marg and 1/2 butter the second time and it was great. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My dad wanted me to make this for him. He received the recipe from a client. The taste is GREAT. Not too sweet. Love the butter. It did not get 5 stars because it was a bit runny. I think that the next time I make it, I will add some cornstarch or flour to thicken it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buschee62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Turned out runny. But tasted good. Don't know what went wrong. :^( Maybe I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heber City, Utah, USA
Living In: Park City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States