Texas Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've made this several times with PERFECT results every time. Something I have learned over the years making candy...you are wasting your time (and ingredients)making candy when it's humid or raining...the candy will NOT set up. Also, I cook these to 240 because they continue to cook while you are stirring in the nuts. These are perfectly buttery, soft, and absolutely the right texture for pralines! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
These are the best pralines I've tasted. They remind me of the pralines made by Lamme's Candies of Austin, Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This recipe is scrupdillyishus!!! So easy too! Just follow the directions. I rate this five stars plus!!! P.S. don't take the final cooking over 242 degrees, it will get too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe! You'll need an accurate candy thermometer. People who've given this a low rating for not setting up, check your thermometer! The reviewer who said to be careful not to boil higher than 242 is right as they'll get too firm. I've made this recipe dozens of times and these are delicious! It is time consuming but so worth it. You can come very close to Lamme's pralines if you use mostly dark Karo and brown sugar. I wrap them in cellophane and put them in my candy boxes for Christmas gifts---the hard part is keeping my husband and sons from eating them first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This recipe came out very well for me. It reminds me of a local treat here in Austin, Lammes "Texas Chewie" Praline, except it's a little lighter in color. Also, I used a silicone mat to set the pralines on and it worked great. If you haven't ever worked with sugar before, be ready to stir for a while to get it up to temperature - it's not a quick thing - but it's worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Very good taste, but DO NOT try to make these in humid weather, they will not get solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I'm not sure why, since I double checked the recipe amounts, but the pralines never hardened. I had a tray of soupy pecans on my hands. I salvaged it by spooning the pecans onto graham crackers and drizzling them with chocolate. They tasted great - just not sure why they didn't harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Great recipe. Next time I might try dark corn syrup instead to give them a darker color. They turned out great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Perfect... I have been looking for a chewy recipe for years. Very similar to the one found in Candy Making for Dummies. I spooned them into miniature silicone muffin cups and they came out great. Created more of a thick patty versus spread out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the best tates just like lambs candies in austin texas loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alex mcgrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gold Bar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States