Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was really easy to make. Taste great but a little salty. Next time I will try using have the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was awesome and I used the sauce too. I scaled back the sauce mix by only using 1 cup water and 1 cup 1 cup ketchup, mainly because I didn't have enough ketchup and I had a lot left over in the end anyhow. My rub was on heavy and so it had a nice bark to it. The meat really was falling off the bone when I tried to cut it. Everyone loved it. I cooked mine in the oven for exactly 4 hours at 275, they looked very dry but were not at all. On the grill for about 20 min total. I suggest putting on the sauce on the grill and then bringing the rest of it to the table for adding on top of the ribs. We tried that and it was great. I like a wet rib. Perfectly sweet with not much heat at all. First time I have bbq'd pork ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Never having made ribs before I was a little nervous but this was a wonderful recipe. A keeper for sure, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
USE TOMATO PASTE FOR THE KETCHUP. Use an extra onion or two, and sautee the onion until it almost dissolves. Then you add the tomato paste. If you do that, and make sure to cook the sauce reeeeeeally slowly, this makes the best b-b-q sauce you have ever put between your lips. If you get impatient, the sauce will scorch and taste nasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
yummo:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This recipe made the ribs OUTSTANDING!!! A definite keeper and one that will be used many a weekend nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This rub is really good. My kids don't like the spices, so after experimenting with less and less, I finally just left it out. The black pepper seems to be enough of a kick on its own. The ribs are hard to keep the ends from drying out, so I have finally learned to cover the ribs up in foil after a while and drip some mop suace into the foil to keep it juicy all the way through the cooking. Not bbq sauce, because that will burn, but mop sauce or a little rub of cooking oil will work too. I also use this rub for pork shoulder, which I then slice. My family loves those too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Must be a Texas thing!! Followed the directions carefully, but these were just way too peppery, spicy, you name it. Too over the top, but I think that's how they do things in Texas. I thought with so many 5 star ratings it would appeal to my family for sure. I ended up scraping off as much of the sauce and rub as I could, coating the ribs in honey barbecue sauce and letting them sit under the broiler for about 5 minutes to carmelize. Much tastier after I did that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I love this rub. After letting the ribs soak up the flavor overnight, I throw them in the slow cooker with just a little bbq sauce for a few hours. I usually cook about 3-4 lbs. and make 1/2 the rub recipe. When they are tender I put them on a foil-lined pan, paint them with some more sauce (or the sauce in the slow cooker) and put them in a hot oven until the they are jewel-like from the glaze caramelizing. I hate to cook outdoors and this method makes for some great ribs. (I like to eat grilled food, I just hate to be the outdoor chef!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Thank you for the recipe ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States