Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I am always trying different rib recipes and this one is by far one of my favorites! I made 3 slabs of ribs and fed 5 hungry guys and all of them raved that they were falling off the bone. Just the right amount of kick and delicious. The nice thing about the rub is your measurements don't need to be exact and it will still turn out. I had about 7 lbs and I baked them for 2:45 before grilling. I was feeling lazy and didn't make the bbq sauce, although I did use the drippings and sauteed the onions and then just added Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and heated it all together and basted the ribs with it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
These ribs were great! We couldn't get enough of them! I used a dry rub and marinated overnight. Then I wrapped in foil without adding the bbq sauce, and cooked for 4 hours at 225. They were so tender! After cooking them for 4 hours, I put the sauce on, then broiled. They were very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
We've made this numerous times, and it is always a hit. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delish! Cut back sugar in the rub to 1 c. and changed the sauce ingredients/amounts as it sounded too "ketchupy." Used 1-1/2 c. ketchup, 1 c. Presidents Choice BBQ sauce and 2 c. water, and did not add the sugar at all. Plenty of sauce (lots left over) and it was the best! Did not go the grill route, but poured sauce over ribs in the roaster and baked in oven for about 30 mins. Would definitely make this again with these modifications but next time would do the sauce/bake for a full hour or up to 1-1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
It had potential but it turned out soooo salty it was not edible. I think the 1/4 CUP salt must be a misprint. I would try 4 teaspoons of salt instead of 4 tablespoons!! Also, the 6 lbs of spareribs should have been written as 12 lbs of spareribs!! I'm curious as to how so many people did not have the same, extreme saltiness problem I had. Thank goodness I did not have guests over at the time I served this! I would love to try it again with the appropriate revisions. It smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
OMG! My husband is a big BBQ fan and comes from a long family tradition of No Carolina pulled pork (Pig Pickins') bu he raved about these! He woke me the next morning at 4:30 am to tell me I should make these for sale!! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These were absolutely delicious- the best ribs I have ever tasted and so easy to make! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I will never make ribs any other way ever again! They were juicy and delicious, the rub was fantastic and a great compliment to the sauce. This recipe made me look like a cooking genius! Definitely worth the extra time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I love these! I have made them several times and are always a hit. I cover them when I back them in the oven. The first time I didn't and they dried out. You can also instead of grilling them pour off the excess liquid out of the pan and just pour the BBQ sauce directly over them and bake them at 350 degrees for another 45 min to an hr. they will brown lightly and they just fall off the bone. This is a good way to do them when you don't have time to stand over the grill. EXCELLENT!!! Also I like a thick bbq sauce.. I don't put the water in the sauce.. I drain the liquid off the ribs in the oven and add just enough to thin it down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
fantastic rub! my boyfriend (from Texas) & i LOVED & DEVOURED EVERY BIT OF THESE...moist meat and a thick flavorful bark...no need for sauce! i have made these 2x in just 3 weeks. im keepin this recipe for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States