Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were SO good! I did not marinate the ribs in the spice rub as suggested, just rubbed them and threw them in the oven; they still turned out great. The only change I made to the sauce was to cut all ingredients in half and used more of the pan drippings than called for (probably 1/4 cup); I also cut the ingredients in half for the spice rub (I used 1 large rack). The ribs were absolutely fantastic, but we thought the sauce was just ok...it was really ketchup-y even though I added about 1 tsp of hickory liquid smoke flavouring. So I will definitely make the ribs with the spice rub again, but probably won't use this recipe for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I scaled down the recipe for 1.5 lbs of ribs (one rack of ribs) and it was very good! Wouldn't change a thing about it. The cayenne pepper added just the right amount of heat (and I like spicy foods). The quantity of dry rub was about 15% too much for one rack of ribs, but it's better to have too much rub than not enough! Refrigerated the ribs for 6 hours and the ribs still turned out really good. Will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I can't help but chime in on the super positive review of the rub. I used it on another recipe ("Baked Bar-be-que Chicken") and it really made a difference. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe, the rub is what really does it! I've also boiled the ribs and then coated them with the rub over night in the refrig before grilling them and got nothing but compliments on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
OMG! Marinated some country style ribs for 8 hrs and then threw 'em in the crockpot overnight....mmmm-mmmm!!! Who knew delicious ribs could be so easy???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
BRILLIANT! The meat literally falls off of the bone...they are so tender and juicy. We ran out of propane at the last minute and had to substitute grill time by placing them back in the oven for the 20 minutes, and they still came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
excellent recipe! i made it in the crockpot like a previous reviewer and the meat just fell off the bone. it was very simple! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
WOW! where to start? i have always wanted to make ribs and have tried several recipes and almost gave up when i came across this one. time consuming, fun to make, amazing to eat. this is a MUST try! we grilled very slowly and had no burn. i halved the recipe. truly AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I rubbed the ribs with all but the sugar and kept in frig. for 5 hours. Then baked uncovered at 275 for 2 1/2 hours. Finished on grill over indirect heat and soaked wood chips for 45 minutes. Also, basted with favorite BBQ sauce. These were better than any I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocomoke City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
These are so tender and delicious! I cut the black pepper and cayenne pepper back by half because I want the kids to be able to eat it too (it's pretty spicy otherwise). I just use bottled BBQ sauce, so this is as easy as it gets for such rave reviews. My dad even loved these, which is a huge compliment. Thanks for the GREAT recipe. Lately I've been rubbing these down with liquid smoke before I use the dry rub and leave overnight. This really makes them even better since I don't use the wood chips when I grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States