Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have never made ribs before because I was afraid they would be too dry but these were not, They were amazing! I made the rub exactly as written and I am glad I read a lot of the reviews first. I kept the rub in a bowl and just spooned it on the ribs until I didn't need any more and stored the rest! I did make the bbq sauce and the only changes I made to it was I added some honey and liquid smoke and I thought the sauce was incredible! I will definitely be making this again, and again, and again! Thank you for the wonderful recipe! Also as many other people stated, the rub is delicious and I plan on making a large batch of it to keep on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Tried this this weekend. I am a big ribs fan but they are quite expensive in New Zealand so I spent a lot of time looking through the recipes and ended up on this one. I used the rub "as is" and marinated overnight. Cooked them as the recipe states right up until the grilling phase (its too cold here to get the grill going). I made a couple of changes to the sauce (using home made ketchup) and added a little whiskey, liquid smoke and a drop of maple syrup right at the end(Kiwis are a little funny about hot spices). I'm from the UK but I was having guests... I then coated the ribs in some sauce and broiled (grilled to me) them until they browned a little. They were awesome! Lovely sauce, so tender that they fell off the bone (literally with the first rack, good job I had an extra). I would recommend this recipe and method as a great introduction for winning ribs. After you've tried them you can add your own touches and tweeks if you feel the need. Or not. Well worth the effort and thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
The sauce is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Great! And so easy. My nephew had a pig butchered he had raised for a school project, so we had a lot of pork to cook. I had never cooked ribs before and was looking for a recipe that you didn't need a smoker. Seen a few that said boil them before putting on the grill, NO BOILING. Then found this recipe that sounded like what I was looking for. Followed recipe for the rub and it is great. Covered the ribs with the rub and left over night in the fridge. Cooked in oven for about 3 1/2 hours then put on the grill medium direct heat for about 40 min. Started with bones on the bottom after 10 min. flipped over to bones on top for about 10 min. Then added more soaked wood chips for lots of smoke and flipped to bones down again and put BBQ sauce (I just used KC Masterpiece original) on them and let smoke 20 minutes. Didn't have any problems with burning. They have turned out GREAT every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Love this rub!!! Excellent recipe. My husbands favorite. I'm going to try this rub on chicken. Make just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Very god even wo the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
WONDERFUL! Simple & packed full of flavor. Can't wait to make them again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
These are just really wonderful, you can't go wrong using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Followed directions to the letter. Left in fridge for 24 hours. Way too much sugar, the drippings were carmalized and couldn't use in basting/sauce recipe. Put the rib rack in between the two burners to brown up with grill at 300 for 10 mins. Flipped the rack and nothing but burnt rub. Had to cut off the burnt sugar and wasted half the rack of ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this recipe several different ways (starting with the original), and they're all delicious! As written, it's too hot for my taste, so I cut down on the black pepper, and leave out the cayenne, plus I use a different barbecue sauce, as this one was WAY too thin - I prefer Sweet Baby Ray's but your favorite (good quality) BBQ sauce will do. I've also discovered that slow cooking this is perfectly suited to the ribs, I let them sit refrigerated in the crock pot with the rub overnight, start it on "low" in the morning, then, an hour before serving, drain out the accumulated juices, and add the BBQ sauce and let simmer. Best ribs EVAH! Serve with big green salad and hot sourdough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States