Texas Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This is the best cobbler in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NINJACHIK1979

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I had never made anything like this before and wasn't sure what the cake mix would do in this recipe. It turned into what seemed like raw batter, which I did not like. So, I didn't really like this recipe because of that, but a couple of my co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Very easy to make. Goes well with any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
We loved this recipe. My husband finished off the whole thing in two nights! Next time I make it, I'm going to use two cans of pie filling. Also, I added the pecans on top during the last 15 minutes of cooking to prevent them from scorching. Thanks Lea Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
one word....YUMMY!!!! it combines the sweetness of the pineapple with the tartness of the cherries to give it a very moist pineapple upside-down cake flavor with a texture of coconut and a hint of pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I submitted this recipe. There is a mistake on the coconut. My grandmother use to make this all the time and she used a can of angel flake coconut. This is also very good with strawberry pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This was a quick fix, delicious recipe. I served it warm with french vanilla icecream which made it even more appealing to my guests. The only worry with this recipe is that there are many people who don't like coconut, and there's really nothing I could think of to substitute it with. Other than that, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I also am from Texas and we call this "dump cake". I have altered it a bit for my tast. I put the cherry pie filling in the pan with the pineapple and mix together. Melt one stick of butter and mix in with the cake mix. Makes it crumbly. Then crumble over the filling. Pecans are optional. Bake until brown. Turns out perfect every time. Other pie fillings are good too or fresh peaches(great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maud, Texas, USA
Living In: De Kalb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
We all thought this was awful. It was just a batch of bad tasting slop. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
This was a simple recipie that I substituted raspberry filling and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States