Texas Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Smelled great - but the cake batter didn't cook at all. I followed the directions perfectly. I;m not even sure how to rescue this without burning the top in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
VERY good!! I melted the butter and mixed it with the cake mix then dolloped it onto the top of the pineapple. It had to bake about 10 mins longer this way, but it was GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shara Quinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Okay something so good shouldn't be sooo easy but it is!!! I seriously have made this at least 4 times in the last couple months. My kids request it often. This is truly a favorite at my house!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Has quickly become a family favorite. My son-in-law said I don't care for coconut but this is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
In the Southeast (I'm from Tennessee), we call this Cherry Surprise and make it like this: Grease baking dish, dump 2 cans cherry filling into it and spread out evenly, evenly distribute about 2 cups whole pecans on top of the cherry filling, spread the cake mix out evenly on top of the pecans, and slice 1 stick of butter into thin pieces and distribute evenly on top of cake mix. Bake for one hour at 350 degrees. Very easy and delicious result! *Every* time I make this, people ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I added almond extract into the cherry pie filling and sprinkled 1/2 cup brown sugar over the fruit. I followed the advice of Mommaward and mixed the melted butter into the cake mix. I only used 3/4 cup butter, sprinkled about 1/2 cup pecans over all, did not add coconut. It was delicious. Nice crunch on top, cobbler-ish in the bottom. I will try it with peach pie filling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i dont get it - the cake mix is sprinkled dry over the fruit and covered with melted butter, so youd think it would absorb the juices and bake through all buttery like a cobbler - not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. I did add an extra can of pie filling which causes the baking time to increase to over an hour or the cake mix will not be done throughly. Also used butter instead of margarine to increase nutty flavor...this is not a low cal desert anyway...very TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This dessert is HEAVENLY!!!!!! It was so easy to make too! My kids enjoyed putting the dessert together. I cant wait to try it again. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
i aBSOLUTTLY LOVE THIS PIE IT HAS SO MANY LAYERS AND IN EVERY BIGHT YOU GET SOMTHIN KNEW I LOVE IT TRY IT IT IS EXCALENT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States