Texas Okra Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Looks like this recipe hasn't been getting any love lately. Youngest decided she wanted to try gumbo, so I let her choose the recipe knowing she couldn't choose any with shrimp (allergies). She chose this one. I will say it was a big hit in this family. The only change I made was to use powdered cayenne pepper as I didn't buy cayenne peppers. If you don't like spice, I would definitely omit this. Oh and I reduced the amount of okra only because I didn't have enough on hand. I would probably make it with just 16 ounces of okra the next time anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolisha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I ALMOST followed the directions......I think that water has no flavor, so I used chicken broth instead of the plain water. This soup freezes well and makes enough to share with a neighbor. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
good recipe. spicy! used andouille sausage instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I Love the recipe! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soonerfreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This was just okay. We don't like really spicy foods so I didn't add the cayenne peppers. I thought the tomatoes with green chilis would spice it up a little but I think the okra overpowered it. If I made it again I would use less okra, maybe half, and cook the chicken with the bacon and onions and then add the okra already thawed so it wouldn't have to cook so long. Not sure what gives it the unusual gray coloring but it didn't affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This recipe was a bust, and I would not make it again. I would substitute tomato juice and/or chicken broth for the 3 c of water. I had to add an additional large can of tomatoes to get any flavour to the dish besides watery jalapeno. I tried to follow another reviewer's advice of adding other herbs, but this thing was just bland. Oh, and I would use whole Okra, because the chopped okra get slimy (and are a disturbing grey color inside)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Very good and very filling. I've made this many times and have tried adding different ingredients each time, my favorite one being andouille sausage. It's very versatile and best of all, easy and fast to prepare. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I first have to apologize for making a few substitutions. I made this for my fathers birthday and he said chicken in a gumbo sounded odd, so he asked for beef sausage instead. Also, there were no fresh cayenne peppers at the store so I used 3 small dried red colored peppers (very spicy). Over all this had a great flavor with the perfect amount of spice. Even my mom and sister, who don't like spicy foods, really enjoyed this gumbo. I will no doubt make this again and again, but may not cook the okra quite so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I was looking for some new ways to use okra. This was just OK--nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States