Texas Lizzies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
My husband has been hankering after a fruit cake, but I wanted to try a fruitcake-ish cookie recipe for portion control. (Ha!) I didn't use the candied fruit; I used raisins and cranberries and a little chopped apricots. The batter seemed wet (probably because I oversoftened the butter), so I tossed in a wee bit of Irish oats (to go with the Irish whiskey) for body, and the result is a very tasty cookie that isn't overboard one way or the other. Fans of oatmeal raisin cookies would probably like this recipe if willing to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The reviews here seem pretty mixed; either they love them or they hate them. If you don't like the after-taste of whiskey, you're not going to like these. Also, fresh ingredients are very important. I, and everyone in my family, loves these little gems! Soft, moist and flavorful with various textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Not well liked. The flavors did not seem to mesh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a great Christmas cookie. I like all the candied cherries, nuts and raisins. My Mom made fruitcake every Christmas which explains why I like this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I am re-reviewing this recipe as I needed to make them again. I followed the recipe exactly except somehow all of the "Jack Daniels" at my house went missing. I searched through the liquor cabinet and the only rum I had was a bottle of hot cinnamon rum and it did not sound like it would work. I had some brandy, Seagrams 7 and Crown Royal (but not enough of any of them to use without mixing). I sniffed everything I had left and settled on Southern Comfort. I soaked the raisins as directed and proceeded with making the cookies. I cannot believe I like them better. Since I am taking them to a wake, I am calling them "Comfort Cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was disgusting. A waste of expensive ingredients. I followed it to a tee and really wanted it to work because it sounded good and I actually like these flavors. But they were akward and seemed to need more of a foundation for all the "heavy" ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ttownbeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I HATE FRUITCAKE!!!!! But these cookies are absolutely delicious! I used green candied cherries and candied pineapple and soaked them in whiskey along with the raisins for about an hour. I also toasted the pecans before baking. I only baked half of the batch and served the cookies at Christmas dinner. A few days later,by popular demand,I was baking the rest of the batch. These cookies are so moist and chewy. They have become a permenant part of my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Wow! This is a wonderful recipe; and has been a big hit in my family (even for those who are disgusted by fruitcake). Though, instead of the red and green candied cherries, I used a candied fruit mix because that's what my husband brought home from the store (candied fruit isn't the easiest thing to find, afterall). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roanoke, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I didn't add the candied cherries but they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
this is a great recipe! If you are looking for more rum flavoring try soaking the nuts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States