Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was absolutely delicious and was easy to make! I was really confused as well with what "Ranch Style" beans are (I'm from the north), so I didn't use any beans and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is another family favorite from this great site! I've made this several times for my family of men and they loved it. It's not too warm. I used turkey sausage and a large Pot. Thanks Petra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I do apologize for the confusion about "Ranch Style" beans. I live in Oklahoma and you can buy this in the grocery store, they're canned beans with a more hearty flavor. But...if you can't find them where you live, any type of canned beans will be fine. Petra Dixon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I doubled the receipe for extra to take to work. Everyone agrees its great. Even my wife said this ones a "keeper" Thanks! Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!! I followed the recipe, except I used one can of Jalapeno Ranch Style and one regular can because we like a lot of heat! This will definitely become a regular favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe is the bomb - awesome! Had to wing it a bit: used 1/2 (8oz.) Hillshire Farm turkey smoked sausage and no ham. I prefer to cube the sausage rather than slice -- just cut slices about 5/8" thick and then quarter them -- easier to spoon up too! Used 3/4 cup rice (which didn't cook up completely, but that was alright), 1 can of the tomatoes, and 1 can of spicy chili beans. Didn't have any thyme or bay leaf, but did add a couple shakes of crushed red pepper. This cooked up real spicy and would have been great with or without the beans, IMO. Good stuff - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Yummy. I used just one can of beans, which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Quick, easy, and good! I used brown rice instead of white, and added some red pepper flakes. Even my picky eater loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Excellent recipe, hands down. This was an absolute crowd pleaser (and it was a crowd). The only improvement that I would suggest would be to add a tad bit more onion and rice. Searing the sausage ahead of time wouldn't be a bad idea either. Other than that, it was a great Creole translation. Great work Petra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very good, I did change the meats to andouille, chicken & shrimp because my family prefers it. I did add a little cajun seasoning as well for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States