Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I do apologize for the confusion about "Ranch Style" beans. I live in Oklahoma and you can buy this in the grocery store, they're canned beans with a more hearty flavor. But...if you can't find them where you live, any type of canned beans will be fine. Petra Dixon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe is the bomb - awesome! Had to wing it a bit: used 1/2 (8oz.) Hillshire Farm turkey smoked sausage and no ham. I prefer to cube the sausage rather than slice -- just cut slices about 5/8" thick and then quarter them -- easier to spoon up too! Used 3/4 cup rice (which didn't cook up completely, but that was alright), 1 can of the tomatoes, and 1 can of spicy chili beans. Didn't have any thyme or bay leaf, but did add a couple shakes of crushed red pepper. This cooked up real spicy and would have been great with or without the beans, IMO. Good stuff - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Maybe this will help with "Ranch Style Beans". I'm from Texas but live in New Hampshire right now. I found that WalMart has a similar item to the Ranch Beans (that you can't get here)and they are called "Chili Beans". The WalMart brand can says "small red beans in a spicy tomato sauce". Hope this helps everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Marten Huff
Living In: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Pretty tasty stuff Petra! I followed the recipe to the letter and we all enjoyed this dish, with the exception that we thought there was too many beans. Next time, 1 can of ranch-style beans will be plenty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I used one chicken breast for the ham but left the sausage. Turned out to be a really good, quick dish. Might be better with one less can of beans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so i skipped the green pepper and used carrots instead, no sausage, used double ham. Used regular diced tomatoes and added lousinanna hot sauce for heat. Also used pepper, majoram, and basil. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Made with 9 oz of sausage and pinto beans, doubled the peppers and omitted the celery. This wasn't too bad but not the best either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is great,I will definitely make it again. It was so easy to make. I had leftover ham and polish sausage and it was a great way of using it up. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
So yummy! I've made this several times to the letter and it is always a crowd-pleaser. Today I tried it with chicken and shrimp, instead of ham or sausage, with only one can of Ranch-style beans and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! Easy recipe to make with a few substitutions just based on personal flavor. Just used water in place of chicken broth. Used 1 can of ranch style beans and 1 can of low sodium black beans. I did add in a Tablespoon of chilipowder for just a bit extra kick. My three year old loved it. Thank you to Petra for sharing the dish!! 100% better than the out of the box dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States