Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Pretty tasty stuff Petra! I followed the recipe to the letter and we all enjoyed this dish, with the exception that we thought there was too many beans. Next time, 1 can of ranch-style beans will be plenty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is a wonderful hearty meal for dinner or lunches. I would like some recomendations for more flavor. Useing a higher quality smoked sauge is important. What is a ranch-bean (ranch style bean)? I could not find the answer so I subsituted a pinto beans, not bad but am I miising something by not using a ranch bean? Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was absolutely delicious and was easy to make! I was really confused as well with what "Ranch Style" beans are (I'm from the north), so I didn't use any beans and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is another family favorite from this great site! I've made this several times for my family of men and they loved it. It's not too warm. I used turkey sausage and a large Pot. Thanks Petra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I do apologize for the confusion about "Ranch Style" beans. I live in Oklahoma and you can buy this in the grocery store, they're canned beans with a more hearty flavor. But...if you can't find them where you live, any type of canned beans will be fine. Petra Dixon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I used one chicken breast for the ham but left the sausage. Turned out to be a really good, quick dish. Might be better with one less can of beans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was good, my husband loved it. Spicy, but not too much for my kids. I left out the sausage, and I only had one can of the tomatoes with chiles, so I added one can of plain diced. I also only added one can of beans. They are what make the recipe! Good, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I doubled the receipe for extra to take to work. Everyone agrees its great. Even my wife said this ones a "keeper" Thanks! Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!! I followed the recipe, except I used one can of Jalapeno Ranch Style and one regular can because we like a lot of heat! This will definitely become a regular favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe is the bomb - awesome! Had to wing it a bit: used 1/2 (8oz.) Hillshire Farm turkey smoked sausage and no ham. I prefer to cube the sausage rather than slice -- just cut slices about 5/8" thick and then quarter them -- easier to spoon up too! Used 3/4 cup rice (which didn't cook up completely, but that was alright), 1 can of the tomatoes, and 1 can of spicy chili beans. Didn't have any thyme or bay leaf, but did add a couple shakes of crushed red pepper. This cooked up real spicy and would have been great with or without the beans, IMO. Good stuff - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States