Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Good, but not spectacular. Tastes like a jazzed up Hamburger Helper...but easy to make in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Yummy. I used just one can of beans, which was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe is the bomb - awesome! Had to wing it a bit: used 1/2 (8oz.) Hillshire Farm turkey smoked sausage and no ham. I prefer to cube the sausage rather than slice -- just cut slices about 5/8" thick and then quarter them -- easier to spoon up too! Used 3/4 cup rice (which didn't cook up completely, but that was alright), 1 can of the tomatoes, and 1 can of spicy chili beans. Didn't have any thyme or bay leaf, but did add a couple shakes of crushed red pepper. This cooked up real spicy and would have been great with or without the beans, IMO. Good stuff - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!! I followed the recipe, except I used one can of Jalapeno Ranch Style and one regular can because we like a lot of heat! This will definitely become a regular favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I doubled the receipe for extra to take to work. Everyone agrees its great. Even my wife said this ones a "keeper" Thanks! Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was good, my husband loved it. Spicy, but not too much for my kids. I left out the sausage, and I only had one can of the tomatoes with chiles, so I added one can of plain diced. I also only added one can of beans. They are what make the recipe! Good, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I used one chicken breast for the ham but left the sausage. Turned out to be a really good, quick dish. Might be better with one less can of beans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I do apologize for the confusion about "Ranch Style" beans. I live in Oklahoma and you can buy this in the grocery store, they're canned beans with a more hearty flavor. But...if you can't find them where you live, any type of canned beans will be fine. Petra Dixon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is another family favorite from this great site! I've made this several times for my family of men and they loved it. It's not too warm. I used turkey sausage and a large Pot. Thanks Petra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was absolutely delicious and was easy to make! I was really confused as well with what "Ranch Style" beans are (I'm from the north), so I didn't use any beans and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States