Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I haven't tried this yet, but I'd like to ad to Petra's comments on "Ranch Style Beans". I grew up in Texas and we also had these very popular beans on the supermarket shelf. I now live on the east coast and brands like Hanover or Bush's Beans have a similar bean called "chili beans". Look for that on the label.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was very good--very spicy--I used Ranch beans with jalepenos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was my first attempt at jambalaya and it was delicious! I also couldn't find ranch beans so I used pinto beans and, after reading the other reviews, only put one can in. I also added shrimp...my fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Unexpectedly savory and delicious! I thought this was going to be good, but it was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe is great. We have made it several times. For a while, we liked it so much we made it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Great adaptation! One note... Don't forget to take out the Bay leaf before serving! Don't eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was great a hit with the family but as always I tweaked the ingrediants I added shrimp along with the other meats but followed the other things since I was in a hurry I used minute rice the flavor was great will make again thanks for sharing ~Blessings from Oregon~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELDOE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Vernonia, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was excellent and fast!! My family loved it. I used left over ham and cheddarwurst that I had on hand. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I read where folks not in the south don't know what " Ranch Style" beans are. I think Bush makes a chili bean and Walmart Great Value Brand sells a chili bean. They are cooked with chili powder and other seasoning. You could add some chili powder to dish. Great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Very good, I did change the meats to andouille, chicken & shrimp because my family prefers it. I did add a little cajun seasoning as well for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States