Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
We loved it! Used brown rice (healthy!). Found that pouring in tomatoes with liquid from the can resulted in a lot of liquid in the recipe. Liquid never really absorbed. Next time, might drain can (of tomatoes) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is a delicious meal that's pretty easy to make. I use jalapeno sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I make this regularly for our city mission free lunch program - ALWAYS A HIT!! I make enough to serve 75 - 100 people and we never have any left! Very economical to make large batches! A definite favorite! Thank you! I make it spicy but not hot and have hot sauce available for those who wish to spice it up more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was easy and good though it took me longer to cook than I expected. It might have been because I used brown rice instead of the converted long-grain rice (decided against buying the converted rice since it was $7.65 for one box). I used red bell pepper instead of green and left out the celery since I don't like cooked celery. We had it with crusty rolls though I'm sure it would be better with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. I didn't follow amounts to the letter and used black beans and kidney beans.I increased the rice by 1/2c. and used a whole can of broth. This will definitely be a recipe I use on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I omitted green pepper (didnt have it) & thyme (dont like it), used oil, celery, onion, chicken stock, instant brown rice, hillshire light smoked sausage, 1 can chicken, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can chili beans, and added black pepper, garlic, oregano, basil, & bay leaf smells good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My husband and I loved this! I did leave out the diced tomatoes and chiles, and added some fresh chopped tomatoes instead (I needed to use them). I think it cut back on the spice and my children (3yrs and 12mos) at it also. Very easy! I even forgot to stir in the beans and it was still very yummy! I will definitely make this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The Texas Jambalaya was absolutely fabulous!!! It has the perfect amount of flavor and a nice spicy kick. Everybody in my family took many helpings. I only used 1 can of ranched style beans, and also used less sodium chicken broth. This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great flavor, but too spicy for us (and we like spicy) and the rice took an additional 20 minutes to cook so it all got a little mushy. Will try again, though, with mild Rotel and cooking the rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Maybe this will help with "Ranch Style Beans". I'm from Texas but live in New Hampshire right now. I found that WalMart has a similar item to the Ranch Beans (that you can't get here)and they are called "Chili Beans". The WalMart brand can says "small red beans in a spicy tomato sauce". Hope this helps everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Marten Huff
Living In: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States