Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! Easy recipe to make with a few substitutions just based on personal flavor. Just used water in place of chicken broth. Used 1 can of ranch style beans and 1 can of low sodium black beans. I did add in a Tablespoon of chilipowder for just a bit extra kick. My three year old loved it. Thank you to Petra for sharing the dish!! 100% better than the out of the box dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so i skipped the green pepper and used carrots instead, no sausage, used double ham. Used regular diced tomatoes and added lousinanna hot sauce for heat. Also used pepper, majoram, and basil. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I added uncooked peeled jump shrimp after leting the chicken stock simmer a bit. Fantastic side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlnavarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
very hearty & tasty ~ I used 1 each, hot, mild & plain diced tomatoes. didn't have any green pepper or celery or smoked sausage. I used chorizo & browned it first. This had wonderful flavor definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
We loved it! Used brown rice (healthy!). Found that pouring in tomatoes with liquid from the can resulted in a lot of liquid in the recipe. Liquid never really absorbed. Next time, might drain can (of tomatoes) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is a delicious meal that's pretty easy to make. I use jalapeno sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I make this regularly for our city mission free lunch program - ALWAYS A HIT!! I make enough to serve 75 - 100 people and we never have any left! Very economical to make large batches! A definite favorite! Thank you! I make it spicy but not hot and have hot sauce available for those who wish to spice it up more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was easy and good though it took me longer to cook than I expected. It might have been because I used brown rice instead of the converted long-grain rice (decided against buying the converted rice since it was $7.65 for one box). I used red bell pepper instead of green and left out the celery since I don't like cooked celery. We had it with crusty rolls though I'm sure it would be better with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. I didn't follow amounts to the letter and used black beans and kidney beans.I increased the rice by 1/2c. and used a whole can of broth. This will definitely be a recipe I use on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I omitted green pepper (didnt have it) & thyme (dont like it), used oil, celery, onion, chicken stock, instant brown rice, hillshire light smoked sausage, 1 can chicken, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can chili beans, and added black pepper, garlic, oregano, basil, & bay leaf smells good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States