Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was rock star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Made with extra veggies, brown rice, all smoked sausage, and no ranch beans to be found so I used chili beans. I don't know if they're a reasonable substitute, but it came out really tasty, so we'll do it that way again. I baked mine (using brown rice) for 2.5 hours because I prefer these sorts of things as a baked casserole :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Good flavor. I changed a few things though. I only used smoked sausage (Hillshire farm hot smoked sausage). I thought about andouile, which I may try next time. I left out the celery and used red instead of green pepper, because in my opinion green peppers have no flavor. I used rotell mild diced tomatoes and bush's chili beans. Also substituted the chicken broth with 3/4 cup Sam Adam's Black Lager. I just like cooking with beer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is great,I will definitely make it again. It was so easy to make. I had leftover ham and polish sausage and it was a great way of using it up. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Made with 9 oz of sausage and pinto beans, doubled the peppers and omitted the celery. This wasn't too bad but not the best either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
So yummy! I've made this several times to the letter and it is always a crowd-pleaser. Today I tried it with chicken and shrimp, instead of ham or sausage, with only one can of Ranch-style beans and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! Easy recipe to make with a few substitutions just based on personal flavor. Just used water in place of chicken broth. Used 1 can of ranch style beans and 1 can of low sodium black beans. I did add in a Tablespoon of chilipowder for just a bit extra kick. My three year old loved it. Thank you to Petra for sharing the dish!! 100% better than the out of the box dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so i skipped the green pepper and used carrots instead, no sausage, used double ham. Used regular diced tomatoes and added lousinanna hot sauce for heat. Also used pepper, majoram, and basil. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I added uncooked peeled jump shrimp after leting the chicken stock simmer a bit. Fantastic side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlnavarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
very hearty & tasty ~ I used 1 each, hot, mild & plain diced tomatoes. didn't have any green pepper or celery or smoked sausage. I used chorizo & browned it first. This had wonderful flavor definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States