Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Pretty tasty stuff Petra! I followed the recipe to the letter and we all enjoyed this dish, with the exception that we thought there was too many beans. Next time, 1 can of ranch-style beans will be plenty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is a wonderful hearty meal for dinner or lunches. I would like some recomendations for more flavor. Useing a higher quality smoked sauge is important. What is a ranch-bean (ranch style bean)? I could not find the answer so I subsituted a pinto beans, not bad but am I miising something by not using a ranch bean? Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This recipe was absolutely delicious and was easy to make! I was really confused as well with what "Ranch Style" beans are (I'm from the north), so I didn't use any beans and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is another family favorite from this great site! I've made this several times for my family of men and they loved it. It's not too warm. I used turkey sausage and a large Pot. Thanks Petra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
I do apologize for the confusion about "Ranch Style" beans. I live in Oklahoma and you can buy this in the grocery store, they're canned beans with a more hearty flavor. But...if you can't find them where you live, any type of canned beans will be fine. Petra Dixon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I used one chicken breast for the ham but left the sausage. Turned out to be a really good, quick dish. Might be better with one less can of beans, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was good, my husband loved it. Spicy, but not too much for my kids. I left out the sausage, and I only had one can of the tomatoes with chiles, so I added one can of plain diced. I also only added one can of beans. They are what make the recipe! Good, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I doubled the receipe for extra to take to work. Everyone agrees its great. Even my wife said this ones a "keeper" Thanks! Randy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was AWESOME!!!! I followed the recipe, except I used one can of Jalapeno Ranch Style and one regular can because we like a lot of heat! This will definitely become a regular favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe is the bomb - awesome! Had to wing it a bit: used 1/2 (8oz.) Hillshire Farm turkey smoked sausage and no ham. I prefer to cube the sausage rather than slice -- just cut slices about 5/8" thick and then quarter them -- easier to spoon up too! Used 3/4 cup rice (which didn't cook up completely, but that was alright), 1 can of the tomatoes, and 1 can of spicy chili beans. Didn't have any thyme or bay leaf, but did add a couple shakes of crushed red pepper. This cooked up real spicy and would have been great with or without the beans, IMO. Good stuff - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States