Texas Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My husband and I loved this! I did leave out the diced tomatoes and chiles, and added some fresh chopped tomatoes instead (I needed to use them). I think it cut back on the spice and my children (3yrs and 12mos) at it also. Very easy! I even forgot to stir in the beans and it was still very yummy! I will definitely make this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The Texas Jambalaya was absolutely fabulous!!! It has the perfect amount of flavor and a nice spicy kick. Everybody in my family took many helpings. I only used 1 can of ranched style beans, and also used less sodium chicken broth. This is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great flavor, but too spicy for us (and we like spicy) and the rice took an additional 20 minutes to cook so it all got a little mushy. Will try again, though, with mild Rotel and cooking the rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Maybe this will help with "Ranch Style Beans". I'm from Texas but live in New Hampshire right now. I found that WalMart has a similar item to the Ranch Beans (that you can't get here)and they are called "Chili Beans". The WalMart brand can says "small red beans in a spicy tomato sauce". Hope this helps everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
We really like making this dish, and it makes a lot of delicious leftovers. We have made it with jalapeno smoked sausage and with andouille and it was good with either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
My family did not like this recipe very much and I even used the spicy kielbasa and some crushed red pepper to jazz it up. They said they like the Zatarain's Jambalaya box mix better, so I won't knock myself out trying to make it from scratch again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very good. I used 1 pkg hot italian sausage(fresh)cook and drain fat. Added some carrot too. Also cooked shrimp with 2 cans of chili style beans at end. Everybody enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni 77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KBigler
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very good! We only used one can of Ranch Style beans. We also only used one can of Mild Rotel with one can of plain diced tomatoes, and it was still a tad bit spicy for our kiddos. Us big kids really loved it though! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I haven't tried this yet, but I'd like to ad to Petra's comments on "Ranch Style Beans". I grew up in Texas and we also had these very popular beans on the supermarket shelf. I now live on the east coast and brands like Hanover or Bush's Beans have a similar bean called "chili beans". Look for that on the label.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was very good--very spicy--I used Ranch beans with jalepenos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States