Texas Hurricane Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Perfect hurricane! Just like we remember from the beach, only stronger :) We didn't want to buy special hurricane glasses, so one-half recipe fit nicely in a standard wine glass. I'm a 150 lb woman, and after 2 wine glasses (1 recipe) I was silly drunk! I had a third wine glass, which caused a mild hangover the next morning, so I told my husband to stop me at 2 wine glasses next time. This recipe has a fantastic kick:alcohol-taste ratio, and for the second batch I enjoyed adding another 1/2 ounce each of the flavored liqueurs to make it even smoother. ATTENTION anyone who hates even the slightest taste of alcohol: this recipe is not for you! Stick to the recipes which have a higher juice:liquor ratio, and leave this recipe for the grown-ups! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I left out the gin and 151....these are really strong without them and I don't like gin, so I didn't use it. I used Captain Morgan for the rum, Malibu for the coconut rum and Titos Vodka. I also added an oz of Passion Fruit Juice per drink. It adds alittle more tropical flavor and is yummy. I garnished each drink with a slice of a star fruit and a marachino cherry:) soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Amazing drink! Very tropical & fruity! I ommitted the gin and the 151 proof rum (1 because I can't stand the taste of gin & 2. I didn't have either of them), and it came out amazingly well! I HATE the taste of alchohol so I added a little extra orange juice (about 1-1.5 ounce) and pineapple juice (.05-1 ounce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
really strong alcohol taste. did not care for the gin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
You weren't kidding when you said if you think you can walk away after two, you just think you can. I'm embarassed to admit I had to be practically carried to the bedroom after these wild hurricanes. The flavor of the drink was very good, just stick to one though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I read the description and decided this would be a drink best sipped slowly and while lying down! Good drink use quality products for a quality drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
What a smash!!!(yes,Smash)! I made two batche's. The second, I left out the coconut rum. It went faster than the first one !! And, yes, Park yourself some where low to the ground!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Yum! This kicks butt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
These will sneak up on you. They are so good. Just get yourself planted somewhere and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hurricane Cocktail

See how to make New Orleans’ sweetly potent cocktail.

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Grateful Dead Cocktail

See how to make a fruity variation on the Long Island iced tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States