Texas Hurricane Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Perfect hurricane! Just like we remember from the beach, only stronger :) We didn't want to buy special hurricane glasses, so one-half recipe fit nicely in a standard wine glass. I'm a 150 lb woman, and after 2 wine glasses (1 recipe) I was silly drunk! I had a third wine glass, which caused a mild hangover the next morning, so I told my husband to stop me at 2 wine glasses next time. This recipe has a fantastic kick:alcohol-taste ratio, and for the second batch I enjoyed adding another 1/2 ounce each of the flavored liqueurs to make it even smoother. ATTENTION anyone who hates even the slightest taste of alcohol: this recipe is not for you! Stick to the recipes which have a higher juice:liquor ratio, and leave this recipe for the grown-ups! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I left out the gin and 151....these are really strong without them and I don't like gin, so I didn't use it. I used Captain Morgan for the rum, Malibu for the coconut rum and Titos Vodka. I also added an oz of Passion Fruit Juice per drink. It adds alittle more tropical flavor and is yummy. I garnished each drink with a slice of a star fruit and a marachino cherry:) soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Amazing drink! Very tropical & fruity! I ommitted the gin and the 151 proof rum (1 because I can't stand the taste of gin & 2. I didn't have either of them), and it came out amazingly well! I HATE the taste of alchohol so I added a little extra orange juice (about 1-1.5 ounce) and pineapple juice (.05-1 ounce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
really strong alcohol taste. did not care for the gin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
You weren't kidding when you said if you think you can walk away after two, you just think you can. I'm embarassed to admit I had to be practically carried to the bedroom after these wild hurricanes. The flavor of the drink was very good, just stick to one though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I read the description and decided this would be a drink best sipped slowly and while lying down! Good drink use quality products for a quality drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
What a smash!!!(yes,Smash)! I made two batche's. The second, I left out the coconut rum. It went faster than the first one !! And, yes, Park yourself some where low to the ground!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Yum! This kicks butt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
These will sneak up on you. They are so good. Just get yourself planted somewhere and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hurricane Cocktail

See how to make New Orleans’ sweetly potent cocktail.

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Grateful Dead Cocktail

See how to make a fruity variation on the Long Island iced tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States