Texas Hotdog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I'm originally from Buffalo NY and Texas hot dogs are a big favorite. You can get the Greek recipe that is used in Western NY form a site called Greekhotdog sauce. Its as good as it gets for the authentic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I liked the sauce! The texas hot diner in Wellsville, NY has a great sauce also. They have been selling hot dogs with their special sauce for eighty years..people drive 40 miles to get a bag of them to go. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
this is a great recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
"TEXAS" hot dog sauce should not be confused with the original "GREEK" recipe, which contained no tomato products, sauce, puree, or whatever....and where in the heck did cinnamon come in ???? This may be a good substitute for the real thing....however....I will "El Paso" on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Oh Diane, we must have stopped at the same place to get our texas hot dogs. This is a great recipe that is very close to that. Excellent!! Good going Diane's dad, thanks for the great recipe. Everyone loved it. It's going in the recipe box. Thanks for sharing. Mama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was really good. I used a whole can of tomato soup and less water so the sauce was thicker. I'll make it again. It would be a great recipe for camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I have made a sauce similar to this one but without the frankfurters. I had never heard of that but it's a good idea. I just don't eat frankfurters. I only eat sauce on buns. I'm from West Virginia and I also put a hint of cinnamon in my sauce as well as vinegar. Some people are afraid of something different. But this is a thumbs up for me. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatSu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Excellent recipe! Serving tip: fry the hotdogs. Butter the inside of the hotdog buns and fry them, also. Not the most heart healthy way to eat them, but boy are they yummy! Don't forget the onion...I hate raw onion, but even I couldn't believe how much flavor they add to the sauce! My husband also added a little melted cheese to his...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
It was probably the brands of hotdogs and soup I used, but this turned out rather salty. Despite this, we enjoyed it. I would probably not bother with the breadcrumbs next time though - they didn't add anything to it. Thanks, Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Europeans have no idea what hotdog sauce is. I cook the sauce without the dogs and freeze it in small containers. A few minutes in the microwave and homesickness goes bye-bye. Unquestionably better than anything store-bought and besides, I like knowing what's in my sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make Buffalo Wing Sauce

See the secret to real Buffalo wing sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States