Texas Hot Wiener Sauce (Ulster County New York Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I'm from Ulster County born and raised and have had this sauce many times. Seen it made and never saw anyone grind up a hot dog. The original sauce is the best there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
one thing about the hot dogs, i always grill them slowly like the Origianl Texas Wieners did in Newburgh Ny. from the 1920's till they closed.The buns i put in a colander over steaming water with a lid. I feel the microwave damages the texture of the roll. I always mince the onions very finely before cooking them in the sauce. Build a texas wiener, dog on the bun, smear of French' mustard, add sauce then the onions last. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I tried this recipe, and it missed the mark. Number 1: Needs more onion, and onion needs to be sauteed into a paste. I started with 1 whole large onion, diced into bits, sauteed with 1 cup water for 30 minutes. Chopped only 4 hot dogs, and added to mix. Cut water down to 3 cups total. Number 2; I also mixed 1 tablespoon yellow mustered into mix. Cut cinnamon down to a pinch. Less liquid, so I also reduced cornstarch to perhaps 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons, dissolved in an additional 1/2 cup cold water, and added just enough to thicken sauce. Thickened sauce should be tkick enough to cling to dog, yet thin enough to flow around dog into the bun, but not drip excessively. Remainder the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Being from ulster county ny this is just like the local hot dog place! I froze the leftovers, it looks a weird consistency when defrosted but once reheated it's perfect! The mustard and fresh mince onions make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Good looking sauce, it's very similar to one I came up with. I'd love to compare notes with you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdjtx

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Very good and even better if it sits for day in the refrigerator. If you don't like it spicy, scale back on the red pepper a bit. We thought it was going to be too hot, but found the spiciness just right, once on a hot dog with a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I'm sure one thinks, wow ground up hot dogs! Hmmm? Nobody asked me what the mush was in the sauce and everyone loved the sauce. Just the perfect amount of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Nicely done!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
the best hot dog sauce ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States