Texas Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Sorry, but hubby and I thought this didn't meld well. Plus I didn't have American cheese so I used what I had on hand, sharp cheddar. The cheese flavor totally took over as the main flavor! That was so much my fault as to my out come of my meal. I will try this recipe again as I think it deserves another try. I really liked the sound of these combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Big hit with the family, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
brown beef in skillet with onion and peppers, add ALL other ingredients to skillet but use at least 1 1/2 c water,knock down chili powder to 1+ T and add 2t. beef boullion, some garlic powder, simmer about 1/2 hr and some sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was a big hit at our house! Even my pickiest eaters enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is really good. I'm giving it five stars based on some simple, basic changes. I read other reviews about it being bland, so I sauteed some minced garlic. I added a can of chili beans (others suggested black beans, but I didn't have any), & a few dashes of worchestershire. I substituted jasmine rice for instant and used yellow and orange peppers instead of green. The rest of the ingredients were the same, except I only added 1 T chili powder because I included the liquid with the chili beans. I think I made too much rice because I needed a 15 ounce can of tomato sauce when others thought it was soupy - mine was too dry. I will make this again!!! Kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This reminds of a spanish rice recipe my mom made when I was a child, very tasty, just the right amount of spice and my 11 month old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
not too good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Good stuff! Bf really liked it which doesn't always happen when I try new recipes. I used leftover rice which made prep faster but otherwise followed to specifications. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Very good and quick. My kids loved it! I didn't use instant rice. I used regular rice, cooked it and add it all together to bake. I also used only 4 - 6 oz of tomato sauce so it wouldn't have an overpowering tomato tatse. Other than that it's awesome and I will be making periodically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotGyrl1277

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A very good base recipe to add whatever you want. We replaced instant rice with regular (keep in mind instant rice requires 1:1 ratio where regular rice is 2:1 water and rice). We also used cheddar instead of that nasty processed American cheese stuff and added Tabasco Chipotle for a little heat. The dish also could use some texture so we'll try crumbling tortilla chips over the top next time, but I could see Fritos going nicely on top if you're into that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States