Texas Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Great recipe! I made this the other night for dinner and my family is already asking me to make it again. The only change I made was that I used Provolone cheese instead of American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This makes plenty, I put it in two 8" square pans and froze one. Of course you don't have to use instant rice, I used regular long grain, because you cook it first so either one works. It seemed like a lot of chili powder for my taste, so I cut back on it and added some cajun seasoning instead. All in all, I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I was surprised at how good this was! My changes, I used long grain rice with cilantro added "cilantro rice from my page", Added cilantro to meat when cooking, added a can of peas and carrots, and topped it with fresh chedder and colby cheese. Really good recipe. My suggestion for future preparation is to add a tamale type crust. This would really bring it to life. I highly recommend that more people start experimenting with fresh cilantro. It really ads to many types of dishes....Good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by solar_biscuit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Very easy to make! I used 2 cups of rice, because 1 just didn't look like it would be enough. I also used a frozen bag of Gumbo Vegetable Medley, which is basically peppers, corn, and okra. Dethawed the frozen veggies by putting them in a pot on the stove with 2 cans of Roasted Red Pepper Diced Tomatoes. Mixed the cooked beef, cooked rice, and veggies in a large casserole dish and topped with a bag of Colby & Monterrey shredded cheese. Only put it in the oven for about 10 minutes, to melt the cheese since everything was basically cooked. Instead of chili powder I used quite a bit of Garlic Pepper because we love the stuff! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakotaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I really loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
We just got done eating this so I thought I'd write a quick review. This was pretty good with the changes I made based on other reviews. I added a large clove of garlic, minced, a can of drained black beans, and a large red pepper instead of green. I used the full 2 tablespoons of chili powder, and did NOT drain the diced tomatoes. Maybe the person who said the result was soupy didn't drain the grease out after browning the ground beef with the peppers and onions. I used plenty of salt and pepper but still think next time I make it I will add some worchestershire sauce. Don't get me wrong, it was more then edible; my son had 2 helpings! It just could have used a touch more zip. Thanks for a good base recipe...an update 11/12/08: If you are using a good brand of chili powder, you may want to cut back to one tablespoon...the first few times I made this I used "bargain" chili powder (.99)and 2 tablespoons was fine...this last time I used McCormick's and 2 tablespoons made it a little too spicy for us. Oh, also, I used muenster cheese, because that's what I had, now THAT was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is a simple, easy, quick dinner and my kids loved it. The only thing I did differently was I added black beans and 2 cloves of garlic. I also added a packet of mild Chili seasoning because I felt it was a little bland. Instead of sliced cheese I used a fiesta blend cheese in a bag and sprinkled it liberally over the casserole. Thanks for the recipe it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. I did not use two tablespoons of Chili powder as I have two small kids but no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. McGriff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I followed recipe except I used chopped celery instead of bell pepper..Excellent, quick entree...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by embeau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I've been making this for years...without the cheese. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States