Texas Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great comfort food. My wife and kids liked this a lot. The kids' aversion to vegetables was not an issue. I doubled everything but the tomatoes and it turned out fine. Garlic salt is a good substitute for regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was very good. I made this a lot easier though. Bought diced tomatoes with green pepper already in them. Only needed to use 1 pan as well. Brown ground beef and drain. Add all ingredients, including uncooked rice. Simmer covered for 15-20 minutes. Put cheese slices on top and they melt just fine. Rice will also be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I added Worcestershire sauce and garlic to the meat, but it just tasted too tomato-ey still, so I added a can of kidney beans, and served over tortilla chips, and then people liked it. Even my 2-year-old! But I think the chips made it, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This was a good recipe. I added creole seasoning to the ground meat while it was cooking. I used salsa instead of the diced tomatoes. I also added cumin and red pepper flakes with a touch of paprika to the beef mixture in addition to the chili powder with a couple more dashes of creole seasoning. I didn't have any cheese so I had to omit that, but I can tell that it would have put this dish over the top. I really liked it. My 3-year-old didn't, but she's picky so that's not saying much. :) This dish tastes like spanish rice with gound beef and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConJonMon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I was unsure of making this at first but i added a can of kidney beans and used a bag of mexican cheese instead of slices. I omited the green pepper due to food allergy and it was yummy, my 14mo old handed me his plate for some more. He loved it, so did my 11 and 5 year old, and then theres my hubby who said you can make this again its a keep sweetie! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Mayerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ely, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Very satisfying. I added a can of black beans and didn't top it with cheese to cut back on cooking time. I served it over corn chips. My two-year-old said, "Thanks for the yummy food, Mom." Leftovers are great with just a little bit of mayo. Makes tons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Excellent! Didn't have any green pepper on hand, so I doubled the onion. Turned out great...very simple, inexpensive, and filling! I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Ok, this is really really good. I just got through eating this and I was actually impressed. I did take the advice of another member and added some Ranch Style beans and put it over buttermilk cornbread-YUM! I also put a dollup of sour cream on top of it all. As far as tweaking the recipe, I used 2 cups of water and 2 cups of rice, I added several dashes of worchestershire sauce. I also used diced tomatoes that had peppers and onions already in them-but I did brown the ground beef with a 1/4 of chopped up onion. I also put in a teaspooon of celery salt and used a WHOLE 14 oz can of tomatoe sauce. Over all, this is an EXCELLENT recipe. My daughter, husband AND myself all went back for seconds! My daughter ate her seconds with tortilla chips for a change and she said is AWESOME! This would be very good in a slow cooker this fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
My mother used to make this when we were kids. After I got married I tried to make it for my husband. My mother never showed us how to make it and I didn't have a phone to ask her how. I also didn't know what it was called so by trial and error I made it using my memory of what it should taste like. My mother never did know what it was called and I thought she just made it up. Imagine my suprise to stumble on this old family recipe on this sight and finaly have a name to give it when I serve it to my family. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe is great. I do use ground turkey in place of the beef and shredded cheddar cheese in place of the American cheese. My kids love it and ask for it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Earlville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States