Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Deeeelish! I added a few fresh poblanos and jalapenos that I happened to have on hand. Pureed the heck out of the sauce for a smoother texture, and viola! Great flavor.Elaine in CA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Perfect! My son has a catering business and likes to make his food from scratch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great stuff. I added a pinch of cinnamon, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
A wonderful enchilada sauce! I doubled the recipe, used 1 cup with 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup rice to make Mexican Rice. Turned out better than you find in restaurants! One guest stated that he does not eat the rice at Mexican restaurants, but this was excellent! I also used a hand blender and blended until smooth. We are not "chunky sytle" eaters. The rest of the sauce was frozen for future use! Truly a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
We halved this recipe, pureed the crushed tomatoes, and left out the chunky onions and bell peppers. We ended up with an amazing thick-but-smooth, perfectly spiced red sauce! Just spicy enough to be interesting, but not too hot to eat. I used this with a copycat recipe for Taco Bell enchiladas, and the results were 100 times better than any fast food place or restaurant! The sauce really made the meal, and a half recipe made enough for 5 large enchiladas (and we used a lot of sauce). Truly this is a must have for any Mexican or Tex-Mex meals we make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was great, and no more trouble then using a packet from the store. Freezes well also. Thanks, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Easy and yummy enchilada sauce! I thought it had just the right amount of spice and flavor. The only thing I changed was I substituted olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Excellent! Thank You for sharing this one with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aledo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My family loves enchiladas but we were getting tired of the same old store bought sauce. I tried this and now it's all I will use. It's excellent. I like to add a couple of more cloves of garlic and puree it in the food processor like another reviewer mentioned. This recipe makes a lot but it freezes well. My stepson even asked if he could have the recipe so he can make it when he moves out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States