Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This was much better than the stuff that comes in a can. If you have the time, I would definitely recommend that the next time you make enchiladas you use this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Deeeelish! I added a few fresh poblanos and jalapenos that I happened to have on hand. Pureed the heck out of the sauce for a smoother texture, and viola! Great flavor.Elaine in CA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This has been my favorite recipe for enchilada sauce since I first made it. I never have liked the cans of enchilada sauces you buy in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I was unable to find packaged enchilada sauce, so I used this recipe....very nice flavour. I suggest adding just a pinch of cinnamon. Angela Himmeroder, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
We halved this recipe, pureed the crushed tomatoes, and left out the chunky onions and bell peppers. We ended up with an amazing thick-but-smooth, perfectly spiced red sauce! Just spicy enough to be interesting, but not too hot to eat. I used this with a copycat recipe for Taco Bell enchiladas, and the results were 100 times better than any fast food place or restaurant! The sauce really made the meal, and a half recipe made enough for 5 large enchiladas (and we used a lot of sauce). Truly this is a must have for any Mexican or Tex-Mex meals we make in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
I followed this recipe exactly and I can't see what everyone is raving about. I'm from North Texas and was expecting something more like a Ranchero Sauce. No offense, but there is way too much chili powder in this for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was great, and no more trouble then using a packet from the store. Freezes well also. Thanks, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
The flavor is wonderful, but I want an enchilada sauce that is thinner, saucier, like the kind on restaurant enchiladas. Next time I will either use two cans tomato sauce in place of the crushed tomatoes or thin it out with broth. Also, I used 1/4 cup chili powder because I didnt want the heat to be overpowering, and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Easy and yummy enchilada sauce! I thought it had just the right amount of spice and flavor. The only thing I changed was I substituted olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great stuff. I added a pinch of cinnamon, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States