Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I think this recipe turns out great... if you use a bit less chili powder than it calls for. I use about 1/8 cup. I also sometimes leave out the onion and bell pepper and I havent noticed a difference either way. Goes great with Chicken Enchiladas I from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I used this recipe as a sauce for homemade tamales. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYBUGMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Perfect! My son has a catering business and likes to make his food from scratch. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This is the first time I made enchilada sauce and it was absolutely delicious. I had a few friends over and they all raved about it. It is also very simple to make and give you that authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I was not very impressed with this recipe. I was quite disappointed because it had pretty good reviews. Way too much chili powder and I used less than 1/4 of a cup. Also not the good spicy flavour that mexican food should have. Anyway will most likely not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great stuff. I added a pinch of cinnamon, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Easy and yummy enchilada sauce! I thought it had just the right amount of spice and flavor. The only thing I changed was I substituted olive oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
The flavor is wonderful, but I want an enchilada sauce that is thinner, saucier, like the kind on restaurant enchiladas. Next time I will either use two cans tomato sauce in place of the crushed tomatoes or thin it out with broth. Also, I used 1/4 cup chili powder because I didnt want the heat to be overpowering, and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was great, and no more trouble then using a packet from the store. Freezes well also. Thanks, Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Arrabbiata Sauce

See how to make a spicy Italian tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States