Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Way too tomato taste and was kind of tangy. I'm sorry but I wont make this again no one cared for it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This sauce is so yummy! I don't even like enchilada sauce. I made this and even used the left over on a pasta and it was still great. I have started to do a couple things different to make it healthier. I use fresh tomatoes instead of canned. For step 1 I toss all the same stuff into a blender. I do saute the onion and bell pepper. After I combine them all I don't cook them on the stove. I put the cold mixture onto the enchiladas and just heat it long enough to make it warm enough to eat It is quicker and easy. It also uses less heat so it doesn't kill as many nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Wow this recipe made a lot! I doubled it for expected company and made two very large pans of enchiladas and still had half a pot of sauce left. However, it was very tastey and everyone raved over how good it tasted. I did substitute dried cilantro for oregano since I don't care for oregano. And I substitued the bell pepper with a mild chilie pepper. Very very good! I will definitly make this again and freeze any extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
My boyfriend and I made this last night and it was delicious. It tastes like real enchilada sauce. We did substitute crushed tomatos for tomato paste and water because of the comments about texture and we don't have a blender or food procesor. And we completely left out chili powder (we didn't have any). Tastes good to us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I used this sauce in my enchilada soup. So much better than the store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This sauce was fabulous. My boyfriend loved it and took the leftovers to the "girls" at the office for their lunch. I used the Spinach Enchilada recipe from this site as well as the Mexican Rice and had a huge hit for dinner and the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My family loves enchiladas but we were getting tired of the same old store bought sauce. I tried this and now it's all I will use. It's excellent. I like to add a couple of more cloves of garlic and puree it in the food processor like another reviewer mentioned. This recipe makes a lot but it freezes well. My stepson even asked if he could have the recipe so he can make it when he moves out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Excellent! Thank You for sharing this one with me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aledo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
A wonderful enchilada sauce! I doubled the recipe, used 1 cup with 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup rice to make Mexican Rice. Turned out better than you find in restaurants! One guest stated that he does not eat the rice at Mexican restaurants, but this was excellent! I also used a hand blender and blended until smooth. We are not "chunky sytle" eaters. The rest of the sauce was frozen for future use! Truly a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I used this as a base, fudging the amounts of seasonings and it came out good. Not as good as I'd hoped, but much better than the store bought brands I've been using. I added a touch of Hot picante sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States