Texas Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I thought it should get a 5 stars but my husband said it was good but not great. I did however follow some advice of some other reviewers and left out the bell pepper because I didn't have it. I also used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and 3 fresh roma tomatoes and blended them up for a thinner sauce instead of the 24 oz can of crushed tomatoes it called for. I also blended the onion after cooking it. My husbands main thing with it was that even after blending it, it was still a bit thicker of a sauce than we usually buy. I think it is worth a try. I loved it. I am sure it would be good with the bell pepper as well. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I won't buy canned sauce anymore. We actually made this to pour over burritos. I can't wait to try it with enchiladas soon! We left out the onions and bell peppers and still tasted great. Didn't want chunky sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I must have done something terribly wrong, this turned out to taste like a metallic tomato....maybe I cooked it in the wrong type of pot?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRosenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My first time making this enchilada sauce was a big success! I may add more chipotle for a little extra zing next time, but you can bet I'll be making it again very soon. I suggest doubling or tripling the recipe and making it ahead and freezing if you're going to be using it in other recipes. It's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
My new enchilda sauce!!! Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Terreton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I changed servings to 4. I used 1 can tomato sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes crushed in processor, 3T chili powder, 1T oregano, 1/2t cumen, 1t pepper, 1/2t salt, pinch of cinnamon, 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 onion and 1/2 green pepper. I followed directions then mixed 1/2 sauce with 1 shredded chicken breast and 3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Heated 2 corn tortillas in damp paper towel in micro. Put 2 heaping T down center of tortilla and rolled. Placed seam side down in sprayed dish. I made 6 fat enchiladas. Poured rest of sauce over. Topped with 3/4 cup cheese. Put on dish lid, Baked 350 for 25 min. This was outstanding! Might reduce chili powder to 2T next time. Might saute gn. pepper with onion in olive oil. This makes plenty of sauce. I could have stretched it to make 12 enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was a great sauce and simple to make. I cut the onions and peppers into big chunks and sauteed then added the other ingredients then pureed it with an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I thought this sauce was excellent and not difficult to make. I skipped the baking step and just rolled up chicken stuffing in corn tortillas and splashed the sauce on top. I let everything soak for a minute and then served with cheese on the side. It is great for those with dairy allergies in the family. This way the little one could eat the chicken and tortillas and the rest of us could still enjoy the cheese. I served with guacamole and Best Black Beans from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
salty almost to being bitter (jayson);blended onions and green peeper and sautéed with garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Tejada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was my first atempt making enchilada sauce and I don't think I can ever use the sauce from the store again. I only omitted green bell pepper because I didn't have any. Very easy to make and tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Marinara Sauce for Canning

Turn an abundance of tomatoes into delicious canned tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States