Texas Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I have to say that these are really filling and really delicious! Toss calories aside, enjoy and pass the guacamole too! Use any white cheese, but Jack cheese or Oaxaca mexican cheese is best when you are frying them because it melts so well. Mozzerella cheese sticks work too, but let the cheese come to room temp and works great when you are baking them in the oven. I hope you all enjoy. UPDATE- Green Chilies are also known as Anaheim Green Chilies - think Ortega Brand. These can be baked. Spray them with cooking spray and bake at 325 until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These are AWESOME! I did them slightly differently due to what I had on hand (I hope you don't mind, Baking Nana)...I had some small wonton wrappers that needed using up, so I used those and decided to use chopped green chilis, as the whole ones would not have fit. I had some pepperjack on hand, so I shredded that. To assemble, I put some shreeded pepperjack and some chopped green chilis on each wonton wrapper, rolled up egg roll style and fried. These made such cute little egg rolls and they were super delicious too! I can't wait to make these again...they would make great appetizers. Thank You Baking Nana for such a different and delicious way to enjoy egg rolls! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Won't bother making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
super easy, really good. i could not find any whole canned chilies, so i bought 6 anaheim chilies and roasted them to soften and peeled and removed seeds after cooling. proceeded as written from then with recipe. served with salsa instead of guacamole.forgot to mention i used pepperjack becuse that is what i had on hand it worked great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
SO so so so good! I only had shredded cheese so that is what I used, but next time I will use the chunks of cheese. Since it was shredded the cheese kinda dissappeared when I fried them, but the were still very good. Quinn, my 3 year old was fighting me for the last one. This is a keeper for this family! Thank you Baking Nana for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
OMG!!! First of all LOVE LOVE them! Second, take it from Me, ( no offense to anyone who made them this way). Do NOT bake them! I know fried foods and all, but fried foods Can be a part of a healthy diet, Moderation is the key. I baked mine, Bad Bad MOM award! 17 YO DD came in and fried a couple up, she did a Great Job! we used the Hatch chilies and Queso Fresco. Tina sprinkled a little salt on the chilies before she rolled them up. They were a hit with her Dad! Quick and easy peasy:) Thanks Baking Nana!! These Rock!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
These were sooooo good! I couldn't find wonton wrappers so ended up making them. I baked them in a 350 oven until golden. YUM!! Thanks Baking Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Yum Yum Yum! These were so great! I used Wontons to make little appetizer rolls. I diced the green chilies and chopped my cheese into tiny bits. I used the baking method on non-stick foil and the end result was a such a hit with my family. The little bits of cheese that oozed out got crispy (which we LOVE) and they disappeared so fast. I served mine with a mexi sour cream dip. Thanks NANA! Update- Made these again for company this weekend and fried them. They were great baked but they were over the top amazing when fried. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Perfect as written. Might also be good with Velveta cheese. Husband ate them up!!! We will make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is not something I will make again, It sounded like a nice twist to the Chilie reino, Not my thing, my family wasn't impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States