Texas Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Today is my daughter's 15th birthday and I made these because her grandma used to. They were her version of Chile Rellenos. However, she did use Velveeta along with the jack cheese, so I did also. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
YUM! These were delicious! People who dont like peppers shouldnt make this, but for the rest of us, this is a great recipe. I bought two cans of whole chiles, only to find that I accidently grabbed one can of diced. I just made them into egg rolls too and it worked fine. I also thawed a few frozen red piquillo peppers to use up the rest of the wrappers and they turned out yummy as well. These remind me of jalepeno poppers .... now all I need is some bronco berry sauce from Arbys to go with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
THESE ARE AWESOME!!! I served with a Spicy Ranch Dip. Next time my husband's buddies are over for football I'm going to make these, I know the guys will LOVE them! Thank you so much "Baking Nana" for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These are so good...I found whole green chiles next to the diced ones, although I only found them in the store brand, but that was fine with me! They were small cans, so they each had three chiles in there. The only change I made was to use wonton wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers, and this was only because I already had them leftover from another recipe. I don't really recommend this route, but if you do- I ended up chopping each chile into four pieces with a small strip of cheese and rolling up burrito-style. I baked in the oven at 375 until they were golden. Definitely spray with cooking spray. Thank you, Baking Nana! We loved these, and we will certainly make these the next time we have mexican. We loved them dipped in homemade guacamole. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Won't bother making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
These were sooooo good! I couldn't find wonton wrappers so ended up making them. I baked them in a 350 oven until golden. YUM!! Thanks Baking Nana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Yum Yum Yum! These were so great! I used Wontons to make little appetizer rolls. I diced the green chilies and chopped my cheese into tiny bits. I used the baking method on non-stick foil and the end result was a such a hit with my family. The little bits of cheese that oozed out got crispy (which we LOVE) and they disappeared so fast. I served mine with a mexi sour cream dip. Thanks NANA! Update- Made these again for company this weekend and fried them. They were great baked but they were over the top amazing when fried. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
SO so so so good! I only had shredded cheese so that is what I used, but next time I will use the chunks of cheese. Since it was shredded the cheese kinda dissappeared when I fried them, but the were still very good. Quinn, my 3 year old was fighting me for the last one. This is a keeper for this family! Thank you Baking Nana for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I got this recipe from Baking Nana on the Recipe Exchange before it was published. Here's my review from her personal recipe page: AWESOME! These are SO good!! I couldn't find a small package of regular jack cheese and didn't have enough moolah for the big pack, so I used pepper jack instead. I had a large can of chiles, so I ended up with 17 egg rolls. I'm glad for that, because now I get leftovers for lunch tomorrow! I'll definitely make these again and again and can't wait to try baking them, too. Thanks, Baking Nana, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
So so sooo good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States