Texas Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
i used mission flour tortillas but they started to puff up in the fryer so i had to poke holes around the egg roll before deep frying them. i think i will use the thinner flour tortillas as they don't take too long to brown thus less greasier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
The boys and husband give this five stars. Make sure you fry them up right away before the wrappers get soggy. I made mine up ahead and plated them in the fridge for an hour until I was ready to fry them. The bottom got soggy from the green chili pepper, even though I dried them with a paper towel before wrapping, so the cheese oozed out of some when frying. I made some with Pepper Jack cheese stix and some with Colby Jack cheese chunks, we all liked the Pepper Jack better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this for my school's potluck and everyone LOVED it!! Very easy, very yummy. My husband told me it's a keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Don't let the simplicity fool you! This is a wonderful recipe. I have always had problems with the breading coming off Chili Rellenos when cooking. This is the answer to that problem. Crispy outside with the wonderful pepper and cheese inside. Perfect. Great Idea. The only thing I changed was to use shredded cheddar-jack instead of sliced cheese, and fresh Anaheim peppers that I roasted first. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Good but, I recommend fresh green chili peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Much better fried than baked. We followed the advice of a previous reviewer and salted the chilies before wrapping. Careful not to stack them for long--we premade and put in fridge and several stuck together. Didn't use entire eggroll wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bri
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I added onions and these are amazing! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
My mom made these when I was a kid. Love LOVE LOVE them!!! She would also cook a small pork roast with a large jar of salsa until the pork was falling apart tender and serve that over them for a complete meal. And to make them kid friendly when I was really little she would omit the chile and make me a few plain cheese ones. I loved them! And still do :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justina Schneeweis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
My husband loves, loves, loves these. Perfect just the way the recipes says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My favorite restaurant makes these with a green chili / pork sauce on them - they are my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States