Texas Deer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I tweaked the recipe a little. I did all the spices, onion, garlic, and green chilis as listed. The following were my additions/modifications: Used 1 pound venison kielbasa sausage, 1 pound ground venison, added 1 Tbsp Worcestershire, did 1 can black beans and 1 can kidney beans, cornstarch to thicken it up, one 6oz can tomato paste, one 14.5oz can diced tomatoes, 1 tsp chili spice, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1 Tbsp frank's red hot sauce, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 cup good dark beer, 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese directly into the crock pot and top with more. It was EXCELLENT with the modifications. Best chilli I've ever made. My boyfriend and I finish off a whole crock pot of it over a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I took pointers from the rest of the group and added black beans, can of diced tomatoes, can of tomato sauce and sliced up some serrano .Turned out great - kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Not bad, but not exactly what I was hoping for. Slow cooker makes it easy and gives the flavors time to mix, but still lacking flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It's really good. It's missing something though, just don't know what. We added diced tomatoes and all the recipe calls for. I love the beans, can't eat chili without beans! otherwise it's just watery meat. My hubs shot a deer and brought it home after it was processed and we were looking for recipes, came across this one, and tried it. We've made it twice now, just a bigger batch. Great recipe. We'll be making it several more times. I wish it would let me upload a pic on here. Hubs served it with shredded cheese on top and a dollop of sour cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have a freezer full of venison. Until this year, I had no idea you could make chili from venison. Great recipe, no changes, AND my chili and my mother's chili always had beans, it wouldn't be chili without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzybel57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tweed, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I opened a pkg. of deer hamburger meat and I was looking for a recipe. My daughter later said,"Mom this taste like spaghetti sauce." She asked have you added any chili powder? With the two tbs. of chili powder it was great. Printing out the recipe now. I forgot to say I added as suggested a can of rotel tomatoes, 1/2 can tomato paste. Left out the chiles, beef broth, and used one lb pkg of deer meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
firstly, boo to those who downrate a recipe because its "texas"chili with beans /eyeroll secondly and more importantly - this was pretty yummy, i made it tonight with the only difference being i used ground venison and not cubes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This chili was awesome ! However I did make some changes, I had to use beef boulion cubes to make my broth, I also added a can of tomatoe sauce ( medium) 1 package of Franks chili powder along with the other spices it called for. I cooked it 2 hours on high, my crock pot dosent have a medium choice it was aawesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by motoclown
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I changed a few things too, I used ground deer meat, fresh peppers, one can of kidney beans, one can of black beans and used canned tomatoes instead of beef broth. I also cooked It on the stove. It was a good hearty dinner and I'll probably freeze some for later. + a bay leaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motoclown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I did not taste the deer at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States