Texas Deer Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Not bad, but not exactly what I was hoping for. Slow cooker makes it easy and gives the flavors time to mix, but still lacking flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It's really good. It's missing something though, just don't know what. We added diced tomatoes and all the recipe calls for. I love the beans, can't eat chili without beans! otherwise it's just watery meat. My hubs shot a deer and brought it home after it was processed and we were looking for recipes, came across this one, and tried it. We've made it twice now, just a bigger batch. Great recipe. We'll be making it several more times. I wish it would let me upload a pic on here. Hubs served it with shredded cheese on top and a dollop of sour cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have a freezer full of venison. Until this year, I had no idea you could make chili from venison. Great recipe, no changes, AND my chili and my mother's chili always had beans, it wouldn't be chili without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzybel57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tweed, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I opened a pkg. of deer hamburger meat and I was looking for a recipe. My daughter later said,"Mom this taste like spaghetti sauce." She asked have you added any chili powder? With the two tbs. of chili powder it was great. Printing out the recipe now. I forgot to say I added as suggested a can of rotel tomatoes, 1/2 can tomato paste. Left out the chiles, beef broth, and used one lb pkg of deer meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
firstly, boo to those who downrate a recipe because its "texas"chili with beans /eyeroll secondly and more importantly - this was pretty yummy, i made it tonight with the only difference being i used ground venison and not cubes =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This chili was awesome ! However I did make some changes, I had to use beef boulion cubes to make my broth, I also added a can of tomatoe sauce ( medium) 1 package of Franks chili powder along with the other spices it called for. I cooked it 2 hours on high, my crock pot dosent have a medium choice it was aawesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by motoclown
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I changed a few things too, I used ground deer meat, fresh peppers, one can of kidney beans, one can of black beans and used canned tomatoes instead of beef broth. I also cooked It on the stove. It was a good hearty dinner and I'll probably freeze some for later. + a bay leaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motoclown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I did not taste the deer at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
My husband, the mighty hunter:-), loved this chili! His only complaint was that it was a bit watery. I added some black beans, a jalapeno, and some canned tomatoes to the mix. Next time I will make it a bit hotter. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahhurlburt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
this is really easy & good... my husband added one can on rotel tomatoes also..... would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Slow Cooker Chili II

Make this spicy, thick chili in a snap.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States