Texas Crabgrass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent and rich! Following other commenters' suggestions, I added 3/4 block of softened cream cheese to the onions-and-butter mixture to add body. Omitted sherry because I didn't have any, and the dish didn't seem to suffer. Heated at 350 for 20 minutes. Happy to add this to my party repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Made for the first time for a company pitch! A co-worker is leaving and moving to Texas, so I wanted something "theme." So far the reviews have been good. It was a really quick and easy dip recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I doubled this last night for a potluck. It was gone within minutes!! I didn't have any cooking sherry, so left it out. I'm not sure what I missed by not having it, but what I had sure was delicious!! Thanks for the easy to make recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Yummy! I would use a tick less sherry next time, or try a different cooking wine. Either the flavor or the amount of sherry gave it a twang. I love it for the most part though! Just one to experiment with to adjust to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I did not think this recipe had much taste. I served it at an Oscar party and it was only one of 2 appetizers and it was barely touched...such a waste of some good crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRAPPLE22
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Awesome recipe - I added an extra 1/4C of cheese and baked at 350 for 30 minutes to bake out some of the moisture - my kids hate spinach and they liked it - this will be making some potluck appearances in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Gave it 4 stars for flavor. It just was not creamy enough for our taste. Next time I will play with the recipe and add sour cream or cream cheese to see if that helps. Great flavor just needs to be creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This was INCREDIBLE! I made it for a BBQ, and it was gone within minutes...literally! Half the party didn't get to have any b/c it was all gone. So easy and good. I served it with onion crackers b/c I omitted the chopped onion (substituted onion powder). I also added a few dashes of hot sauce and used light butter. People are still talking about it and can't wait to have it again. TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This was absolutely fabulous, dfinitely a keeper and will make again. My only suggestion is to double the recipe if making for a gathering, because it was gobbled up within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States