Texas Crabgrass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent and rich! Following other commenters' suggestions, I added 3/4 block of softened cream cheese to the onions-and-butter mixture to add body. Omitted sherry because I didn't have any, and the dish didn't seem to suffer. Heated at 350 for 20 minutes. Happy to add this to my party repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Made for the first time for a company pitch! A co-worker is leaving and moving to Texas, so I wanted something "theme." So far the reviews have been good. It was a really quick and easy dip recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I doubled this last night for a potluck. It was gone within minutes!! I didn't have any cooking sherry, so left it out. I'm not sure what I missed by not having it, but what I had sure was delicious!! Thanks for the easy to make recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Yummy! I would use a tick less sherry next time, or try a different cooking wine. Either the flavor or the amount of sherry gave it a twang. I love it for the most part though! Just one to experiment with to adjust to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I did not think this recipe had much taste. I served it at an Oscar party and it was only one of 2 appetizers and it was barely touched...such a waste of some good crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRAPPLE22
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Awesome recipe - I added an extra 1/4C of cheese and baked at 350 for 30 minutes to bake out some of the moisture - my kids hate spinach and they liked it - this will be making some potluck appearances in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Gave it 4 stars for flavor. It just was not creamy enough for our taste. Next time I will play with the recipe and add sour cream or cream cheese to see if that helps. Great flavor just needs to be creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This was INCREDIBLE! I made it for a BBQ, and it was gone within minutes...literally! Half the party didn't get to have any b/c it was all gone. So easy and good. I served it with onion crackers b/c I omitted the chopped onion (substituted onion powder). I also added a few dashes of hot sauce and used light butter. People are still talking about it and can't wait to have it again. TERRIFIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This was absolutely fabulous, dfinitely a keeper and will make again. My only suggestion is to double the recipe if making for a gathering, because it was gobbled up within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States