Texas Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I made it last night and enjoyed it very much however I also tweaked the recipe a bit. I doubled the recipe and used 3 tablespoons of butter and 3 tablespoons of flour and only used 3 cups of milk so it would be thicker. I also added in 4 oz of sharp cheddar cubed cheese and a dash of red pepper flake to give it an extra spicy kick. I rinsed off a can of black beans and heated them up in the microwave and topped the bowl of chowder off with the black beans and crunched up blue corn tortillas, DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have tried many corn chowder recipes on this site and others. This is the best. I love that the flour uses the veggies to thicken it. Just the right consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This hit the spot! Just what I had been craving. I tend to make everything as healthy as possible: I left the skins on the potato, and used fat-free milk. It's still good, but I'm used to the healthier versions. It was a little watery...but that's ok. I love the addition of the jalapeno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Not that this recipe was not good, I just wasn't a big fan and I think some of that had to do with me thinking I'd be a culinary pioneer and add red peppers to it...don't do it; they will give the entire soup a sweet peppery taste that overpowers the rest. Also, I would advise listening to the other reviewers and increasing the amount of flour. I went by the recipe the 1 tablespoon was not enough to classify this soup as a "chowder". Minus my red pepper mistake and the fact that it was a little thin for my liking, overall good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlewis56

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
this was DELICIOUS and finally, a corn chowder recipe from scratch that DOESN'T use cream corn in it!! all i changed was i added an extra 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp flour to make it thicker. also, i just put the potatoes in when i put the corn in and cooked it for 20 min. FABULOUS! the jalapeno is optional - i left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was delicious! I used leftover corn from fresh corn on the cob and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelCurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good but couldn't taste the jalapeno. I used the amount called for so next time I'll add more to give it a kick. Other than that, I would give it a 5! I did add about 1/4 cup of diced red bell pepper - just because I had some on hand. It added nice color & flavor. I had to laugh at myself because I was disappointed in the small amount in the pot. After it was done I realized the reciped was for 2 people. Should check that! Way too much work for only 2 serving with all the chopping and cutting corn off the cob. I'll make a large pot because I think it would be just as good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
very nice recipe,easy n delicious.I added some cubes of boneless chicken,1 cup of milk instead of two,so it was a bit thicker.we ate it with a loaf of bread and another time with some white rice.thnx for sharing,definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Yummm. I doubled the recipe, and then I made it with 2 T extra flour and only 3 cups of milk to thicken it up. For the leftovers, I've been throwing a Kraft american cheese single into the bowl before I microwave it, and then stirring it all up once it's melted. It's delicious! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I liked it and my family liked it. It was very easy to make. I doubled the recipe, but reduced the amount of milk to about 2 1/2 cups because as I was pouring it in, the soup seemed too watery. Also, I used 2 cups of low-sodium chicken broth instead of water and boullion. I also added some all-purpose seasoning and thyme for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States