Texas Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Mmmm, so good! I am NOT a fan of coleslaw, but this was very good! I altered the recipe just a little because I can't leave well enough alone: I added Cilantro to the cabbage mixture, and to the dressing I added some taco sauce (about 2 T.) and about 1/2 cup sour cream. I didn't have radishes, so I omitted that. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Loved this! I used a bag of coleslaw greens from the store and added the dressing to it. I also used a bit less cayenne than called for. The taste of cumin and lime are delicious. This is the dressing recipe that I will always use from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was surprisingly good. I don't like coleslaw and have, therefore, never made it. But, I love cabbage and can't turn down anything with cumin in it. It was super easy to make and was excellent. I've discovered that it's important to slice the cabbage super thin. So, next time, I'll use my mandolin slicer to get that shredded cabbage feel. It was super flavorful and a bit tangy/spicy. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Whoa....this was just TOO spicy for me and my family! Some other people say it has a "slight" kick but I think it has a HUGE kick! BUT I think the flavor could be really good and I will definitely make again but with less of the pepper. I do like the cumin flavor. I recommend to others to try this recipe but add the cayenne and black pepper gradually and taste to make sure it's not too spicy for you, especially if you're sensitive to spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Great recipe and different flavor...be aware it has a kick that everyone might not appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is a very good coleslaw with a twist. If you don't like cumin, you won't like this slaw. It has a very slight "kick" also. If you are looking for something different to try for summer BBQ... this would be it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Best coleslaw ever! I used half and half green and red cabbage, left out the radishes and added a splash of cider vinegar. Served it with smoked pork ribs and there wasnt much left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I doubled this for a potluck and thought it was tasteless. Asked DH to taste it, he thought it was great. Evidently so did others, because I came home with an empty bowl. So what do I know? I did add more cayenne in an attempt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was very tasty and a bit spicy. I served it with southern pulled pork sandwiches and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I am from Texas and never tasted coleslaw more delicious than this. The cummin added a binding twist between German and Mexican cuisine. This recipe made enough coleslaw for 10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.D. Twinbells

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States